Author Topic: Symantec On Demand Scanner interferes with Avast Pro  (Read 9508 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

petek

  • Guest
Symantec On Demand Scanner interferes with Avast Pro
« on: October 06, 2009, 08:06:06 AM »
I have an old laptop which I brought home from work and which I let my daughter use. The problem is that it has an old version of Symantec AV which interferes with Avast's Resident scanner, ie with Symantec's on demand scanner running, Avast disables some of its services including its resident scanner. I can't remove Symantec because its protected by my employer's old administrator's password so I can't delete it from the system. The administrator left the company a long time ago and nobody knows what his password was. I've renamed all of Symantec's .exes but the on demand scanner is still running. By renaming the Symantec directory, it crashed the PC so that's not the solution. Does anybody know what Symantec's on demand scanner is called so I can disable it, ie reneame it ? Any other suggestions ? Thanks

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37152
  • Not a avast user
« Last Edit: October 06, 2009, 08:13:13 AM by Pondus »

petek

  • Guest
Re: Symantec On Demand Scanner interferes with Avast Pro
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2009, 10:07:56 AM »
Thanks, I'll give it a try.

petek

  • Guest
Re: Symantec On Demand Scanner interferes with Avast Pro
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2009, 09:35:54 PM »
No didn't work. The uninstall programme asked me to delete Symantec (8) in the add/delete progammes before proceeding. Some uninstall programme ! I just need the name of the application which runs the on demand scanner so I can rename it ! Can anyone help ? Cheers

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37152
  • Not a avast user
Re: Symantec On Demand Scanner interferes with Avast Pro
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2009, 09:54:38 PM »
Try with SYMANTEC or symantec as password

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37152
  • Not a avast user
Re: Symantec On Demand Scanner interferes with Avast Pro
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2009, 10:00:05 PM »
Password to Uninstall Symantec Antivirus Client November 12th, 2008
http://www.whatsmypass.com/password-to-uninstall-symantec-antivirus-client

petek

  • Guest
Re: Symantec On Demand Scanner interferes with Avast Pro
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2009, 08:56:11 PM »
The "symantec" password allowed me to run the uninstall of the programme. Unfortunately, when I rebooted, once Windows opened, the computer froze. I restored the computer and tried again three times but each time the computer froze again. Any ideas ?

Offline nmb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3060
Re: Symantec On Demand Scanner interferes with Avast Pro
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2009, 09:03:08 PM »
boot into safe mode and try the norton uninstall toll which pondus posted earlier. (reply #1)

then repair avast installation. try if it works.

nmb

petek

  • Guest
Re: Symantec On Demand Scanner interferes with Avast Pro
« Reply #8 on: October 07, 2009, 10:32:21 PM »
I've already uninstalled in safe mode and then run Norton's remove tool. It still crashes the computer. I get the same result if I simply rename the Symantec programme folder (which is what I did initially). When the computer reboots, its looking for something that isn't there anymore and then freezes. Very frustrating.

Offline nmb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3060
Re: Symantec On Demand Scanner interferes with Avast Pro
« Reply #9 on: October 07, 2009, 10:33:31 PM »
crashes - do you get a bsod?

petek

  • Guest
Re: Symantec On Demand Scanner interferes with Avast Pro
« Reply #10 on: October 08, 2009, 08:02:17 AM »
No BSOD. Windows starts to open normally, and then freezes just after the little Avast icons open in the bottom right hand corner of the screen. If I can't remove Symantec, I presuambly should be able to deactivate its applications by renaming them no ? For example, I can rename the real time scanner Rtvscan.exe to OLDRtvscan.exe which effectively stops it from loading when the PC is booted but I am unable to find what powers the on-demand scanner. I'm thinking that this mas stop Avast from recognizing it. Any ideas would be appreciated !

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37152
  • Not a avast user
Re: Symantec On Demand Scanner interferes with Avast Pro
« Reply #11 on: October 08, 2009, 12:15:00 PM »
Have you tried Symantec/norton forum/support?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Symantec On Demand Scanner interferes with Avast Pro
« Reply #12 on: October 08, 2009, 02:20:35 PM »
Have you tried Symantec/norton forum/support?
Good luck ;D
The best things in life are free.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37152
  • Not a avast user
Re: Symantec On Demand Scanner interferes with Avast Pro
« Reply #13 on: October 08, 2009, 02:28:36 PM »
Quote
Good luck
hmmm.....is it that bad?..... :'(

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Symantec On Demand Scanner interferes with Avast Pro
« Reply #14 on: October 08, 2009, 02:32:37 PM »
Quote
Good luck
hmmm.....is it that bad?..... :'(
I don't trust on Symantec support.
The best things in life are free.