Author Topic: Will avast implement Microsoft Antivirus API  (Read 14873 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:Will avast implement Microsoft Antivirus API
« Reply #15 on: June 08, 2004, 07:46:47 PM »
Igor, this new features include a mechanism of detection of trojans?
Why are there so many false positives in 0424-0 ?  :(

Technical, as I explained earlier, yesterday we have added another huge bunch of Trojan-gen detection. Acutally, the number of false alarms was not so high - most of the files sent were real Trojans or some shadow programs (adware, game keyloggers etc). Not big trouble - and we will release the updates with those few removed soon!

Pavel

I know Pavel... I recognize your efforts. But it's terrible to found your computer after a scheduled scanning with a lot of files in the Chest. For me, eight scripts were moved to Chest and a lot of backup programs (the setup files)... It's annoying.
After almost one day, the VPS is still 424-0  :'(
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:Will avast implement Microsoft Antivirus API
« Reply #16 on: June 08, 2004, 07:47:35 PM »
This generic detection for trojans shows big potential :)

For what RejZor?  :'( I hope it won't rise up the number of false alarms...
I'm becoming cetic with Heuristics  :(
The best things in life are free.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9406
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:Will avast implement Microsoft Antivirus API
« Reply #17 on: June 08, 2004, 07:54:15 PM »
I'll always say,better one false positive than real parasite :P
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Pavel Baudis

  • Guest
Re:Will avast implement Microsoft Antivirus API
« Reply #18 on: June 08, 2004, 08:38:36 PM »
After almost one day, the VPS is still 424-0  :'(
This is not true - the updated version has been released nearly two hours ago (and was online during your post already  ;))!

Hope it will solve your problems!

Pavel

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9406
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:Will avast implement Microsoft Antivirus API
« Reply #19 on: June 08, 2004, 08:41:41 PM »
How is it possible that my PUSH system didn't update them?
I tried to update manually and they were updated to 424-1 ???
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:Will avast implement Microsoft Antivirus API
« Reply #20 on: June 08, 2004, 09:03:02 PM »
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:Will avast implement Microsoft Antivirus API
« Reply #21 on: June 08, 2004, 09:04:20 PM »
Pavel, I have the Beta version 4.1.404 and not the 4.1.396...
Maybe that's the reason, at least, last week Vlk have to 'change' something to allow beta testers to update...  :'(
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:Will avast implement Microsoft Antivirus API
« Reply #22 on: June 08, 2004, 09:15:26 PM »
Crazy?!
I downloaded the full vpsupd.exe file and what I get?!
What's going on with the beta version?
The best things in life are free.

Pavel Baudis

  • Guest
Re:Will avast implement Microsoft Antivirus API
« Reply #23 on: June 08, 2004, 09:36:19 PM »
Pavel, I have the Beta version 4.1.404 and not the 4.1.396...
Maybe that's the reason, at least, last week Vlk have to 'change' something to allow beta testers to update...  :'(

Yeah, sorry, I did not know you have the beta installed  :(. According to Vlk it is really handled in some special way - so it is up to him now. The other possibility is to return back to "standard" version.

Pavel

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:Will avast implement Microsoft Antivirus API
« Reply #24 on: June 09, 2004, 06:15:06 AM »
Yeah, sorry, I did not know you have the beta installed  :(. According to Vlk it is really handled in some special way - so it is up to him now. The other possibility is to return back to "standard" version.

I never wait so long for his help  :'(
The best things in life are free.