Author Topic: "Windows is Starting up..." slowed, Avast or Virus?  (Read 2676 times)

xenoss

"Windows is Starting up..." slowed, Avast or Virus?
« on: October 19, 2009, 02:57:33 AM »
Hi.  I'm new to avast.  I got infected by a virus, 1 symptom were fake spyware protection programs.  I cleaned it out using malwarebytes, it didn't do a complete job, because hours later, the same thing happened again.  After a few times I got avast.

Now, it seems to be cleaned for now.  But I notice on boot, the "Windows is starting up" splash screen takes longer than it did before.

I am wondering if this is a known Avast thing?  Does Avast even start that early in the booting process?  Or is this more likely viral symptom/aftermath?

Offline Tarq57

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: "Windows is Starting up..." slowed, Avast or Virus?
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2009, 03:07:40 AM »
Hi, xenos, and welcome to the forum.
There are quite a few likely causes for a slow startup. The chief suspect is likely to be malware, given what you've said, but there could be a couple of other things worth checking, first.

Did you have any other AV installed prior to Avast?  It would need to be completely uninstalled, using a specific removal tool if necessary, and then maybe Avast repaired.

What was the name of the malware detected? Either the infected files (names) that were removed, and/or the name that the rogue called itself.
Can you please post the most recent MBAM report. It can be copied and pasted in your next reply.
What is your OS (including service pack), and the computer CPU and RAM?

I suggest you clean your temporary files (using the built in disk cleanup utility), and run a boot time scan with Avast, to help remove any leftovers.
Windows 10,Windows Firewall,Firefox w/Adblock.

xenoss

« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2009, 04:36:22 AM »