Author Topic: Avast and Windows 7  (Read 2101 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline PKidd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Avast and Windows 7
« on: November 18, 2009, 09:33:24 PM »
How does avast! work with windows 7? How about a 64-bit processer. On my Notebook I'm running Win7 on an AMD 64-bit processor.  I've used avast on my XP machine but from what I've read mixed reviews about if it actually works on  Win7.

The main reason is I have a webroot error I believe. Webroot keeps returning "System Monitor found: potentially rootkit-masked registry"
both in safe mode and operating normally but widows defender doesn't find anything.  From the MSG boards I've read I've gotten the solutions of it's a false-positive to I need to reformat my hard drive and re install windows.

Thanks in advance.

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8798
Re: Avast and Windows 7
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2009, 09:48:24 PM »
Welcome

I use avast! V5 on Windows 7 64-bit without a problem.

If you want to use Webroot you can't have the anti virus application as 2 anti virus applications will clash:
http://www.webroot.com/En_US/support.html?WRSID=75bf6d9ce66a2b728329adfc548ec3ca
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline XMAS

  • Avast translator
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1211
  • Santa is watching you ;)
    • avast! in Bulgarian
Re: Avast and Windows 7
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2009, 09:52:30 PM »
Also more about avast! and Windows 7 - http://www.avast.com/eng/press-release-windows-7-logo.html  ;)
You've Got To Get Close To The Flame To See What It's Made Of...

Offline Brandonn2010

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 373
  • Infection free since Winter 2008
Re: Avast and Windows 7
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2009, 06:19:29 AM »
YoKenny, you've said not to use two AVs because of the resident protections clashing, but you use MBAM full which has resident protection doesn't it? Does that not conflict with Avast?
Windows 7 Pro x64 | Norton DNS | Router + Windows FW | Avast! 6 BETA Free | Prevx 3 free | Malwarebytes 1.51 Free | Emsisoft Anti-Malware 6 BETA Free

Offline CharleyO

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7101
  • Be alert for error code - ID 10T
Re: Avast and Windows 7
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2009, 06:32:21 AM »
***

MBAM is not an anti-virus program but is closer related to anti-spyware.


***
Self-built desktop (8 years old) - AMD64 3200+_Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939_4 gb RAM_GeForceFX 5800w/256 ram_XP/SP3_Avast 7_MBAM_ZA Free __and__ Toshiba Satellite Laptop_W7-64bit_ 4 gb Ram_Avast 8_MBAM