Author Topic: Avast plus What ? do I use to replace Zonealarm functions  (Read 3434 times)

Offline Biox

Avast plus What ? do I use to replace Zonealarm functions
« on: November 18, 2009, 03:35:23 AM »
I have been using Zonealarm for a few years, don't like it because it slows down all pc's I have here, but I have felt compelled to use this as I was not aware of an option.

I have just recently discovered Avast a few days ago, and am impressed and pleased with the product.

My question is though, can I just run Avast and say the Windows Firewall on XP and Vista without running Zonealarm at all ?  In other words, will I get as much protection out of combining Avast and the Win Firewall, or, should I be using Avast and something else ?

thanks in advance.

Online DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast plus What ? do I use to replace Zonealarm functions
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2009, 03:53:23 AM »
XP has no outbound protection so a third party firewall is advised.

With the Vista firewall, you could also enable the outbound protection of the Vista firewall, but it isn't very friendly, is rule based and you have to create the rules. - Vista Firewall Control, http://www.sphinx-soft.com/Vista/index.html and this, http://www.sphinx-soft.com/Vista/faq.html. Also check out this topic for some user friendly help for the Vista Firewall, Outbound protection, http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=30234.0.

Many forum users are using these:
- PC Tools Firewall seems to have the least user headaches as it doesn't seem to be constantly asking the user questions about this and that.
- Online Armor for the most parts fine but it has caused some users grief after avast program updates and that is something you have to watch out for.