Author Topic: firefox and script blocker  (Read 5468 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline crotherm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
firefox and script blocker
« on: December 07, 2009, 08:56:36 AM »
Does avast script blocker support firefox?  if not when?  I did a forum search and the most recent is from last year.

thx

Offline pmjg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: firefox and script blocker
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2009, 12:14:48 PM »
i use noscript as a firefox add-on as recommended here,works great.

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9443
Re: firefox and script blocker
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2009, 12:24:05 PM »
Does avast script blocker support firefox?  if not when?  I did a forum search and the most recent is from last year.

thx

to answer your question: obviously the goal of the script shield in Avast is to take care of any browser, and even other internet connected clients, which I suppose it does...(confirmation needed). I personaly tend to favor the NoScript extension in Firefox which is more and more configurable, while the script shields is not at all. But this supposes you use Firefox as your default browser, otherwise you need other solutions, and avast script shield may be one of them.
w7 - ais7

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: firefox and script blocker
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2009, 12:36:28 PM »
Script Blocker cannot work with Firefox: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=14879.msg125840#msg125840

The browser extracts the scripts from the page and passes them to Script Blocker. It scans them for viruses and if everything is OK, the browser continues execution. There's no whitelist... and the scanning itself shouldn't affect the execution in any way.
The best things in life are free.

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9443
Re: firefox and script blocker
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2009, 12:45:15 PM »
@ tech:
Quote
The browser extracts the scripts from the page and passes them to Script Blocker

so not with Firefox right ? (according to the other thread)
w7 - ais7

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: firefox and script blocker
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2009, 12:58:38 PM »
@ tech:
Quote
The browser extracts the scripts from the page and passes them to Script Blocker

so not with Firefox right ? (according to the other thread)
No Firefox.
The best things in life are free.

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9443
Re: firefox and script blocker
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2009, 01:05:26 PM »
OK good to know, I never used it in V4 (non-pro) and hardly payed attention when I tried the suite of V5.
w7 - ais7

Offline crotherm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: firefox and script blocker
« Reply #7 on: December 08, 2009, 02:15:29 AM »
Script Blocker cannot work with Firefox: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=14879.msg125840#msg125840

The browser extracts the scripts from the page and passes them to Script Blocker. It scans them for viruses and if everything is OK, the browser continues execution. There's no whitelist... and the scanning itself shouldn't affect the execution in any way.

The entry you posted is over 4 years old.  I did find that post and hoped things would have changed by now.

Offline crotherm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: firefox and script blocker
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2009, 02:17:09 AM »

thanks for all the info...  I guess noscript is my answer.