Author Topic: set up boot scan  (Read 8794 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nmb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3060
Re: set up boot scan
« Reply #15 on: December 03, 2009, 07:35:16 PM »
avast 5.0 is coming out soon. fyi its in beta. hopefully pro users will not be disappointed. but there are actually three versions in 5.0 you can read more about it in the blog post : http://blog.avast.com/2009/11/30/so-when-is-version-5-coming-out/

the free firewall which I use with avast is pc tools firewall plus, you can try it. or search around the forum a bit, you will find many topics regarding firewalls, make sure it is not an outdated topic(hint : search in the general topics forum, you will get better results.).

one of them : http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=49944.0

nmb


Offline nmb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3060
Re: set up boot scan
« Reply #16 on: December 03, 2009, 07:36:40 PM »
DavidR

sir, is the settings menu same in the pro version?

nmb

derek_jones_37

  • Guest
Re: set up boot scan
« Reply #17 on: December 03, 2009, 07:42:47 PM »
Thanks NMB I was reading how online armor was being reported by Avast as a trojan but it was a false report.

Jones

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86830
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: set up boot scan
« Reply #18 on: December 03, 2009, 07:44:27 PM »
Many forum users are using these firewalls:
- PC Tools Firewall seems to have the least user headaches as it doesn't seem to be constantly asking the user questions about this and that.
- Online Armor for the most parts fine but it has caused some users grief after avast program updates and that is something you have to watch out for.
- Comodo is now a suite and you have to do a custom install so as not to install the antivirus element (or use the add remove programs to remove the AV element if already installed), of all the firewalls listed this seems to be the noisiest in asking questions, depending on settings and elements used (Defense+), so it could be daunting for those not to familiar with firewalls or their systems.
- Outpost Firewall 2009 free, a cut down version of the Outpost Firewall Pro version, which should still provide good protection, http://free.agnitum.com/. Download, http://www.filehippo.com/download_outpost_firewall/
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86830
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: set up boot scan
« Reply #19 on: December 03, 2009, 07:45:57 PM »
DavidR

sir, is the settings menu same in the pro version?

The Program Settings should be the same in the Pro version as it is outside of the Enhanced User Interface, so those areas should be common to both versions.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

derek_jones_37

  • Guest
Re: set up boot scan
« Reply #20 on: December 03, 2009, 07:50:22 PM »
Yeah i may as well go for the pc tools firewall plus.  That in addition to the Avast should do the trick.  Nice...

Jones

Offline nmb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3060
Re: set up boot scan
« Reply #21 on: December 03, 2009, 07:50:42 PM »
DavidR

sir, is the settings menu same in the pro version?

The Program Settings should be the same in the Pro version as it is outside of the Enhanced User Interface, so those areas should be common to both versions.

thanks for the info.

nmb

derek_jones_37

  • Guest
Re: set up boot scan
« Reply #22 on: December 03, 2009, 08:12:35 PM »
Just set up PC Tools Firewall....works pretty good...thanks.

Jones

Offline nmb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3060
Re: set up boot scan
« Reply #23 on: December 03, 2009, 08:13:19 PM »
you are welcome.

derek_jones_37

  • Guest
Re: set up boot scan
« Reply #24 on: December 03, 2009, 08:15:47 PM »
Would You recommend the "Home" Setting in the Profiles or the "Public"?

Jones

Offline nmb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3060
Re: set up boot scan
« Reply #25 on: December 03, 2009, 08:19:00 PM »
select based on where you are:

are you in home? or public?, you can change the settings by double clicking the tray icon > settings > networks > and change the setting in profile column.

nmb

derek_jones_37

  • Guest
Re: set up boot scan
« Reply #26 on: December 03, 2009, 08:27:00 PM »
I have it set up for Home since I'm at home.  I wasn't to sure if it was that specific. 

Thanks

Jones

Offline nmb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3060
Re: set up boot scan
« Reply #27 on: December 03, 2009, 08:52:46 PM »
it might block a few protocols or a few services like printer sharing etc.. not sure.

nmb