Author Topic: Have to find my MADCHOOK.DLL  (Read 15822 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Marco_SE

  • Guest
Have to find my MADCHOOK.DLL
« on: December 03, 2009, 11:10:13 PM »
I need to know the easyest way to get back MADCHOOK.DLL

I get an error for winsys2.exe when I boot up my computer and it asks for this MADCHOOK.DLL.
I must have deleted it during the false positives yesterday. I know, it was bad. Everything else (eh, one file) did go to the Chest before I found out that all was false positives .

It is the only file I have left to fix. Everything else is back (from Virus Chest).

So, the best and easyest way to find this MADCHOOK.DLL? And to what folder do I have to put it if there is one I can download from somewhere, or just get from my Vista cd.

Edit: (Vista 64 bit)
« Last Edit: December 03, 2009, 11:17:19 PM by Marco_SE »

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Have to find my MADCHOOK.DLL
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2009, 11:17:57 PM »
winsys2.exe belongs to the NVIDIA graphic card drivers AFAIK.
So I'd suggest reinstalling the NVIDIA drivers - chances are it will resolve the issue.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37183
Re: Have to find my MADCHOOK.DLL
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2009, 11:20:00 PM »
tjena grabben  :) will this help you?

Windows Vista Repair
http://ezinearticles.com/?Windows-Vista-Repair&id=485947

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Have to find my MADCHOOK.DLL
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2009, 11:21:02 PM »
tjena grabben  :) will this help you?

Windows Vista Repair
http://ezinearticles.com/?Windows-Vista-Repair&id=485947

I don't think. Again, it's a 3rd party software component (NVIDIA in this case).
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Marco_SE

  • Guest
Re: Have to find my MADCHOOK.DLL
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2009, 11:23:59 PM »
Nice, I reinstall Nvidia gfx drivers and report back...
(Tjena Pondus hehe)

Marco_SE

  • Guest
Re: Have to find my MADCHOOK.DLL
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2009, 11:38:46 PM »
No, it didn't work.

I still get that popup when I start.
It says, up on top: "winsys2.exe -  Can't find a component" (or something. I have a Swedish ver of Vista).
And the main text says something like this: This program could't start due to MADCHOOK.DLL wasn't found. This can be fixed by reinstalling the program.

Well, I don't know what program it is hehe.

More help? It would be a lot of work if I have to start all over again just due to this one file :)

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Have to find my MADCHOOK.DLL
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2009, 11:40:58 PM »
Don't start over.
Search your hard drive for the file (winsys2.exe) to find out which program it belongs to. Then reinstall the program.

(BTW: there are even some real viruses that use this file name; so it would be interesting to see what is this winsys2.exe of yours about).

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Marco_SE

  • Guest
Re: Have to find my MADCHOOK.DLL
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2009, 11:58:00 PM »
winsys2.exe:

File Description: TODO
Company name: TODO
Fileversion: 1.0.0.1
Created: 2008-08-28 11:45
Size: 212 kB

Latest changend: 2006-10-03 13:37
Type: Program

And it is in folder: C:\Windows\SysWOW64

But MADCHOOK.DLL, I don't have a clue?

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37183
Re: Have to find my MADCHOOK.DLL
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2009, 12:02:06 AM »

Offline gregoryh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Have to find my MADCHOOK.DLL
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2009, 01:17:59 AM »
Although it doesn't help him find the software that installed it, that file was made and is distributed (under licence) by this guy, here :- http://www.madshi.net/madCodeHookDescription.htm.

Marco_SE

  • Guest
Re: Have to find my MADCHOOK.DLL
« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2009, 07:42:04 AM »
I downloade MADCHOOK.DLL and put in to "C:\Windows\System32".
I had to try. It was a little bit scary but it looks like it worked. I didn't get any errors when I logged into Vista anyway.

(Thanks Tgell)

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Have to find my MADCHOOK.DLL
« Reply #11 on: December 04, 2009, 10:09:56 AM »
Your copy of winsys2.exe actually looks quite fishy to me.
Can you try uploading it to www.virustotal.com and see what it says?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Dwarden

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1793
  • Ideas, that's ocean without borders!
    • Bohemia Interactive
Re: Have to find my MADCHOOK.DLL
« Reply #12 on: December 04, 2009, 10:19:13 AM »
winsys2.exe was trojan component i saw it sometime ago ... but could be that it used name of something innocent again
https://twitter.com/FoltynD , Tech. Community, Online Services & Distribution manager of Bohemia Interactive

Tgell

  • Guest
Re: Have to find my MADCHOOK.DLL
« Reply #13 on: December 04, 2009, 08:02:16 PM »

Marco_SE

  • Guest
Re: Have to find my MADCHOOK.DLL
« Reply #14 on: December 04, 2009, 08:56:04 PM »
Well, I don't have the "winsys2.exe" file in "C:\Windows\SysWOW64 anymore".

But I still had that "madCHook.dll" I downloaded. Now when I didn't find the "winsys2.exe" I renamed it to "AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAmadCHook.dll" and there wasn't an error message when I booted. I am going to move it completely from where it is now and delete it when I see that everything is ok.

Mainboard is an ASUS but I have MSI GFX cards in SLI (nvidia). I unistalled a couple of programs for those cards. One of them was MSI StarOSD and I think it might had something to do with it.
(MSI StarOSD = to adjust the contrast, brightness, overclocking and temperature according to each user’s individual preference).
I also unistalled some other programs I don't even remember what they were hehe. I have never used them anyway.

Edit: I did wrote the wrong filename. Now it is "winsys2.exe", as it should :)
« Last Edit: December 05, 2009, 12:04:01 AM by Marco_SE »