Author Topic: bandwidth throttling  (Read 6941 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fiddler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
bandwidth throttling
« on: June 13, 2004, 01:13:48 PM »
Hi guys,
             I have two pc's on a network at home, both running XP pro.
           We have ntl broadband 600kbps.
           This is the problem:- when my daughter (the other user) is downloading stuff I can't play games (online)!
            Is it possible to control her bandwidth so that I get the lions share, say, let her have 100kbps and me 500kbps?
            If so, how do I go about it?
                       All help greatly appreciated :D :D  

ps. I am networked using only a cat 5 cable (no router or switch or hub)

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:bandwidth throttling
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2004, 01:26:17 PM »
How are these two connected to the Internet? Hardware router?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline fiddler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:bandwidth throttling
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2004, 01:28:26 PM »
No, just a cat 5 cable , pc to pc ;D

Offline fiddler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:bandwidth throttling
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2004, 01:30:04 PM »
sorry, to the internet, cable modem ,from ethernet card :-[

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:bandwidth throttling
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2004, 01:30:08 PM »
So her computer is connected to the Net via yours (i.e. she can't go online if your machine is turned off)?

If so, what software router do you use? Windows XP "Internet Connection Sharing"?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline fiddler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:bandwidth throttling
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2004, 01:31:25 PM »
no , a little prog called Analog X proxy

Offline fiddler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:bandwidth throttling
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2004, 01:31:57 PM »
couldn't get ics to work !!! 8)

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:bandwidth throttling
« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2004, 02:10:47 PM »
Try www.netlimiter.com and set bandwidth limit to AnalogX.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9346
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:bandwidth throttling
« Reply #8 on: June 13, 2004, 02:31:44 PM »
Its possible to split bandwidth,but if you play online games (as you mentioned) you will suffer great ping no matter how much bandwidth you have. I was playing for some clan and i know how annoying this is ;)
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline fiddler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:bandwidth throttling
« Reply #9 on: June 13, 2004, 02:55:34 PM »
Thanks very much for that. I will try it and let you know what happens. ;D ;D

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5086
Re:bandwidth throttling
« Reply #10 on: June 13, 2004, 04:37:11 PM »
RejZoR is it possible to control a users bandwith on a hardware router?
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline Biby57

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
HEllo? Newbie here!
« Reply #11 on: June 13, 2004, 07:33:39 PM »
Hello?

I am new on this forum and all this is very new to me.

Can somebody up there help me?

My Avast Antivirus is the free version, it is for home use only. But I can find out the version of your program in the "About avast!..." window.

The other problem I have with Avast anti-virus is that  not running correctly. I got an error message and this is what it said:

Error message:

Can't install VPS update.Please report following errorcodes
Version 4.1.396
SI: 0x00000002
ST: 0xFFFFFFFF
LE: 0x00000000

My Computer Configurations is:

WIN ME Pentium- HOME
AMD ME 4100
512 MB
866 MHZ
40 GB 7200 RPM HARD DRIVE
DVD Rom
DVD +/-RW
DSL CONNECTION [512 DOWN/128 UP]
HOME NET COMCAST.NET
NORTON INTERNET SECURITY 2004

Please, I will really appreciate some help as to figuring out what's wrong with my anti-virus.

Thank you so much

Beverly

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:bandwidth throttling
« Reply #12 on: June 14, 2004, 05:38:52 AM »
RejZoR is it possible to control a users bandwith on a hardware router?

Well this would be great if possible... RejZoR, any suggestion?  :D
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:HEllo? Newbie here!
« Reply #13 on: June 14, 2004, 05:46:45 AM »
Biby57, please do not post 'twice' the same issue... Your answer is in other thread.  ;)
The best things in life are free.