Author Topic: Error when updating  (Read 3998 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ys

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Error when updating
« on: December 10, 2009, 04:56:05 PM »
Good day to all, My Avast Proffesional was installed a long time ago by my school's janitor (he was also the school internet/pc technician, don't ask me why).. well it has worked perfect ever since untill recently..

Whenever I want to update my virus definitions it always tells me that my System date and time have changed and that I need to change that and re-enter my license key.. Now where that comes from, I have no idea.. so apparently I needed to change my date and time settings, so I did, and I tried to re-enter my license key, problem is, I don't know where the hell I'm supposed to find one??

Anyway, I was looking around on this forum and saw that you could manually download updates, so I tried that and got the following error as well;

Can't install VPS update. Please, report following errorcodes:

Ver:4.8.1201
SI: 0x00000005
ST: 0x2000001D
LE: 0x00000000.



So, ehhhrrrm, what the hell is going on? Do I need a new license key? Where do I get that? Do I need a new Avast version? Where do I get that?

Offline scythe944

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2913
    • My Tech Blog
Re: Error when updating
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2009, 05:03:58 PM »
The license key should have been emailed to the person (Janitor?  ;D) who originally purchased the license.

It can be recovered, but it's likely that it will be sent to the original person again.

I guess that if the janitor isn't around anymore, and the license is expired, then purchasing a new license is in order. http://www.avast.com/eng/avast_4_professional.html


Also, you can test to see if your license has expired: http://www.avast.com/eng/faq-licence-key-expired.html
For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum

Offline Ys

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Error when updating
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2009, 05:23:52 PM »
Apparently my license key has not yet expired.. damn that janitor!

Do I just buy a new license key or do I have to buy a whole new version of avast now?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85552
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Error when updating
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2009, 05:30:07 PM »
I would say first deal with the date issue, changing that to the correct day/month/year (if required) may resolve the issue without having to re-enter the license key.

Manual updates like the auto update will only work if you have a valid in date license.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.5.2470 (build 21.5.6354.680) UI 1.0.660/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Ys

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Error when updating
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2009, 05:32:31 PM »
I suppose this is not the right forum for helping me out with the date issue right?

I'm a complete noob, I know  :-[

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85552
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Error when updating
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2009, 05:36:59 PM »
Double click on the clock (bottom right of the screen), from the settings that pop-up confirm that the date is correct and adjust as required.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.5.2470 (build 21.5.6354.680) UI 1.0.660/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Ys

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Error when updating
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2009, 05:41:01 PM »
Okay so the date is correct. But I still get the pop-up to check my date settings and re-enter the license key if okay. So my problem really just seems to be the license key.. and well since I'm not the owner apparently I just have to get a new one I guess :P

Offline scythe944

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2913
    • My Tech Blog
Re: Error when updating
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2009, 06:08:09 PM »
Is this computer still at the school?  Wouldn't it be their responsibility to keep licenses up to date?  Did you steal it or something? I'm confused.
For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum

Offline Ys

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Error when updating
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2009, 06:15:46 PM »
Nope, it's my laptop. I once took it to the guy cuz it was broken and he told me that he couldn't find any antivirus program on my laptop, so he put Avast! on it.. and that's all I know.

Offline scythe944

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2913
    • My Tech Blog
Re: Error when updating
« Reply #9 on: December 10, 2009, 06:21:56 PM »
Odd that he paid for it.  I would have just given you the free version instead.  Well, if it was about a year ago, then It probably is expired, and you'll just have to pay for a new license I guess.
For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum

Offline Ys

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Error when updating
« Reply #10 on: December 10, 2009, 06:27:13 PM »
Okay! Thanks for the help  ;D

Offline scythe944

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2913
    • My Tech Blog
Re: Error when updating
« Reply #11 on: December 10, 2009, 06:29:05 PM »
Sure, no problem.
For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum