Author Topic: avast and spamkiller do not play nice  (Read 6621 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5093
avast and spamkiller do not play nice
« on: June 15, 2004, 04:53:27 AM »
After the latest spamkiller program update several weeks ago I get the Port 110 is already in use error message at startup

Program versions:
Avast 4.1.418
Mcafee SpamKiller 5.1.09 (I use MW Pro on mine)

Windows XP Home Edition (daughters computer)
SP1

does this replicate on your end?
« Last Edit: June 15, 2004, 04:54:12 AM by MacLover2000 »
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5093
Re:avast and spamkiller do not play nice
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2004, 01:33:07 AM »
Any awnser?
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:avast and spamkiller do not play nice
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2004, 03:23:52 AM »
Use MailWasher !!! NO problems at all... most important, it adores avast!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re:avast and spamkiller do not play nice
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2004, 03:43:14 AM »
Mac, port 110 is in use by your email client (probably).
Set your email client and Mcafee SpamKiller to 120 (for instance).
Let avast in the 110.

More details: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=9;action=display;threadid=3413
The best things in life are free.

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5093
Re:avast and spamkiller do not play nice
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2004, 03:50:05 AM »
let me try that technical i will post back
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5093
Re:avast and spamkiller do not play nice
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2004, 03:57:46 AM »
Thank you technical! I set spamkiller and the Mozilla mail to port 120 and presto no more error message
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re:avast and spamkiller do not play nice
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2004, 04:05:24 AM »
Thank you technical! I set spamkiller and the Mozilla mail to port 120 and presto no more error message

Well, I really think this is your first problem I have helped  :D
The best things in life are free.

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2248
Re:avast and spamkiller do not play nice
« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2004, 07:31:09 AM »
Well, I really think this is your first problem I have helped  :D

Shucks, even us PC users get lucky once in a blue moon.  ;) ;D
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent