Author Topic: avast pro and malwarebytes pro  (Read 3335 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pmal67

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
avast pro and malwarebytes pro
« on: January 01, 2010, 02:22:39 AM »
Happy New Year to all ,

an Irish question ,

should I be running avast pro and malwarebytes pro at the sametime or is this just overkill on my part

paul
Toshiba satellite pro/core 2 / xp-pro sp3 / mbam-pro / avast 6 pro

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71407
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avast pro and malwarebytes pro
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2010, 02:58:56 AM »
Short answer no.

malwarebytes Pro is a specialist anti-malware and shouldn't conflict with avast. I use SAS Pro and MBAM on-demand with no issue with avast.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2015 10.2.2215 R2/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 36.0.3, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.4/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline pmal67

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: avast pro and malwarebytes pro
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2010, 08:42:19 AM »
Hello DavidR,
your advice would be just to run avast pro and to switch off mbam ??

happy new year

paul
Toshiba satellite pro/core 2 / xp-pro sp3 / mbam-pro / avast 6 pro

Offline +AdDicT+

  • Anime Otaku!
  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 710
  • Defense is the best offense!
    • Watch anime^^
Re: avast pro and malwarebytes pro
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2010, 10:02:07 AM »
Based from his answer, he meant "yes" in ur main question[not in the or part]^^ and "no" in the or part^^
[correct me if Im wrong David^^] ;D
Good luck and Happy new year

-AnimeLover^^
Currently watching: Detective Conan, Maoyuu Mao Yuusha, and many others!
Avast 9.x Free, Windows Firewall, Firefox 24.x, Win 7 Ultimate
Last updated: Oct 24, 2013

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1931
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
    • The Early Today
Re: avast pro and malwarebytes pro
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2010, 10:44:25 AM »
You can run avast pro and malwarebytes pro simultaneously.

Offline pmal67

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: avast pro and malwarebytes pro
« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2010, 10:47:13 AM »
thanks chris for clearing that one up 
Toshiba satellite pro/core 2 / xp-pro sp3 / mbam-pro / avast 6 pro

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Super Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2006
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: avast pro and malwarebytes pro
« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2010, 01:53:16 PM »
I use Avast Pro ( at the moment Avast 5 Beta ) with MBAM Pro, and they do well together :)

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 7 x64 SP1 / Vista x32 SP2 / Ubuntu 14.04 / iOS 8.3  Real TimeAIS  WinPatrol Plus  CryptoPrevent  Unchecky  MCShield  On Demand: MBAM  Secunia PSI  FileHippo Update Checker  Backup: Win 7 Image / Acronis True Image Home  Proxy: ASL  Other VPN's  Socks 5  Tor.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71407
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avast pro and malwarebytes pro
« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2010, 05:20:14 PM »
Hello DavidR,
your advice would be just to run avast pro and to switch off mbam ??

happy new year

paul


No its not overkill.

It shouldn't conflict with avast resident or on-demand. I only have MBAM as on-demand as I have SAS Pro (hopefully you would have noticed), which is a resident anti-spyware and you shouldn't have two resident scanners from the same type (anti-spyware/malware).
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2015 10.2.2215 R2/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 36.0.3, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.4/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security