Author Topic: Yahoo Messenger 10 Problem in Vista  (Read 6655 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Yahoo Messenger 10 Problem in Vista
« on: January 07, 2010, 04:28:50 PM »
Why I cannot run Yahoo Messenger in my secondary User Account with my User Account Control (UAC) enabled and Parental Control?  ???

I am the admin but I cannot allow the standard user to use Yahoo Messenger ???

Is there any way around?  >:(

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48333
  • 63 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Yahoo Messenger 10 Problem in Vista
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2010, 12:27:49 AM »
Unfortunately I can't help you with Yahoo.
I use Trillian Astra and it handles all the IM's without a problem.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 23.5.6066, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

ardvark

  • Guest
Re: Yahoo Messenger 10 Problem in Vista
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2010, 12:47:46 AM »
Why I cannot run Yahoo Messenger in my secondary User Account with my User Account Control (UAC) enabled and Parental Control?  ???

I am the admin but I cannot allow the standard user to use Yahoo Messenger ???

Is there any way around?  >:(

Hi Chris...

Is the use of Yahoo Messenger blocked under "Program Limits" of Parental Control?

God bless :)

Offline Cahya Legawa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
  • Oh, here we are again.
    • My Log
Re: Yahoo Messenger 10 Problem in Vista
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2010, 12:51:06 AM »
I just forgot, but just like ardvark said, it should be there an option to "available" for all user
Avast Ultimate (Bundle). Windows 10, Android, iOS.

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: Yahoo Messenger 10 Problem in Vista
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2010, 08:01:35 AM »
No. It is not blocked under program limit

I am the admin. I have another standard a/c for my brother. I have enabled user controls because I don't want my brother to change any settings.

Yahoo messenger won't run under a standard a/c. Is there any way around

@ bob

Trillian don't have video chat. Do they?

ardvark

  • Guest
Re: Yahoo Messenger 10 Problem in Vista
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2010, 08:15:15 AM »
Hi Chris...

Short of disabling UAC, I'm not sure what to suggest other than to contact Yahoo to see if they will lend a hand. :-\

God bless :)

Offline Cahya Legawa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
  • Oh, here we are again.
    • My Log
Re: Yahoo Messenger 10 Problem in Vista
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2010, 10:30:40 AM »
No. It is not blocked under program limit

I am the admin. I have another standard a/c for my brother. I have enabled user controls because I don't want my brother to change any settings.

Yahoo messenger won't run under a standard a/c. Is there any way around

@ bob

Trillian don't have video chat. Do they?

I remember some programs asked if shall they available for admin (you) only or for all user in the first time installment. I'm not quite understand it on YM, since I use Pidgin.

Regards,
Cahya.
Avast Ultimate (Bundle). Windows 10, Android, iOS.

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: Yahoo Messenger 10 Problem in Vista
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2010, 07:12:51 PM »


I remember some programs asked if shall they available for admin (you) only or for all user in the first time installment. I'm not quite understand it on YM, since I use Pidgin.

Regards,
Cahya.


Hmm, there is no such option when installing Yahoo 10.

@ardvark

I contacted the guys at Yahoo. They told me that it is a new security feature of Yahoo 10.

I am flabbergasted!  ;D

My brother will really miss Yahoo! Haha!


Offline Cahya Legawa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
  • Oh, here we are again.
    • My Log
Re: Yahoo Messenger 10 Problem in Vista
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2010, 12:03:43 AM »
Chris Thomas,

Is there anyway for non-admin user to install YM in their own account? It is permitted?

Regards,
Cahya.
Avast Ultimate (Bundle). Windows 10, Android, iOS.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48333
  • 63 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Yahoo Messenger 10 Problem in Vista
« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2010, 03:41:34 AM »
No. It is not blocked under program limit

I am the admin. I have another standard a/c for my brother. I have enabled user controls because I don't want my brother to change any settings.

Yahoo messenger won't run under a standard a/c. Is there any way around

@ bob

Trillian don't have video chat. Do they?
That feature is only available in the paid version. Sorry.  :'(
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 23.5.6066, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: Yahoo Messenger 10 Problem in Vista
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2010, 07:19:36 AM »
@ Cahya

A non admin cannot install Yahoo messenger 10 on vista...