Author Topic: JS:Pdfka-US [Expl] in Virus Chest  (Read 10006 times)

ch3952

JS:Pdfka-US [Expl] in Virus Chest
« on: January 08, 2010, 06:29:27 AM »
I went to a website today and right when the page loaded up I recieved the avast banner saying malware found and then gave the box option to move it to the chest, which is what I did. This malware/virus (not sure what it is) is still in my virus chest. When I open up the virus chest, it's under the name "plugin-ChangeLog.pdf", the location is C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\plugtmp. And under virus is says, JS:Pdfka-US [Expl]. 

I have no idea what to do now. I want to delete it but I'm not sure where it will go. I don't want to open anything up or log into anything because I'm not sure what's on my computer now. When I did an avast thorough scan, nothing popped up. I did a MBAM scan and nothing came up. I also did a hijackthis log.

What do I do? How inconvenient of this, I have a paper due in the morning that I have to EMAIL in.   :-\

Help.

YoKenny

Re: JS:Pdfka-US [Expl] in Virus Chest
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2010, 06:45:57 AM »
Welcome

A lot of websites are infected today and please read:
http://www.scmagazineus.com/every-36-seconds-a-website-is-infected/article/140414

Leave the infection in the chest but do not go back to that website.

Get CCleaner to clean out the Temp Folders:
http://www.ccleaner.com/download/builds <== get the Slim version with no Yahoo toolbar

Instal then run it and let it clean out what it finds.

ch3952

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2010, 06:58:36 AM »
That's it?  ??? Just delete my temp folder with CCleaner? Is it ok to restart my computer and use the internet afterwards?

ch3952

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2010, 07:03:43 AM »
How long will the infection stay on my computer? There is no other way to delete it off my computer?

Offline Yanto.Chiang

• Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • Soli Deo Gloria
    • PT Garuda Sinatriya Globalindo