Author Topic: proxy settings bug not fixed in 5.0.394 [SOLVED temporarily: UAC related!!!]  (Read 2728 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
just to mention it again, any change there in the update settings panel is not retained
« Last Edit: January 28, 2010, 04:20:58 PM by Logos »
w7 - ais7

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2100
Re: proxy settings bug not fixed in 5.0.394
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2010, 04:02:39 PM »
On WinXP Pro SP3, I have it set to No Proxy and it retains the setting, but only after logging into an Admin account to set it and logging out.
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: proxy settings bug not fixed in 5.0.394
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2010, 04:09:57 PM »
On WinXP Pro SP3, I have it set to No Proxy and it retains the setting, but only after logging into an Admin account to set it and logging out.

so that's a privilege issue... problematic in Seven as UAC is most likely the issue there, and to deactivate it you got to reboot...will check this now.
w7 - ais7

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: proxy settings bug not fixed in 5.0.394
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2010, 04:19:20 PM »
@ Gopher John: thanks for pointing that out. As I wrote in my previous post I'm on Seven, and oc running my system on an admin account (yeah, another topic), but I got something that you don't have in XP: UAC (user account countrol Vista/Seven) that prompts off and on, depending on what you request on the system, for admin privilege confirmation. And that's exactly the issue there, not even a prompt but UAC is blocking it.
 So, I deactivated it, rebooted, changed the proxy setting again, and now it's retained  ;)
w7 - ais7

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2100
At least (from my minimal exposure to both) Win7 handles UAC more gracefully than Vista, at least on 64 Bit. :-\
 
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
At least (from my minimal exposure to both) Win7 handles UAC more gracefully than Vista, at least on 64 Bit. :-\
 

well the only difference in Seven is there are degrees of UAC interference, when in Vista it's all or nothing, no big deal, as the maximum setting in Seven should be preferred for security reasons imo, keeping in mind that it's not the default. Also, you can tweak UAC in Local Security for both Vista and Seven.
w7 - ais7