Author Topic: Avast 5 and newsgroups  (Read 5379 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ace2701

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Avast 5 and newsgroups
« on: January 20, 2010, 11:51:41 PM »
Just installed Avast5, and looks good so far.. EXCEPT for my newsgroups.  
With 4.8, they were always scanned.  Now, Avast says "error reported by server  481 SSL not allowed".
E-Mail comes through fine.  When I disable the NNTP setting in my mail shield, all is fixed.  Any setting in
my Agent (1.91/32.594) that I should adjust?  I know it's an old version, but it works fine for me.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2010, 11:57:08 PM by ace2701 »

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4125
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: Avast 5 and newsgroups
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2010, 11:56:51 PM »
Hi ace2701,

I am not too familiar with these settings, but from what you have described, avast! looks to have detected the newsgroup, and is trying to provide SSL, when it is not wanted.

Now this is a bit of a guess, but maybe you could try this:

Open avast! GUI --> 'Real Time Shields' --> 'Mail Shield' --> Expert settings --> 'SSL accounts

Is the NNTP setting displayed there? If it is you could try setting the encryption to none. (as that seems as though that is what the newsgroup server wants...)

-Scott-
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline sded

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1718
  • Me llamo Ed
Re: Avast 5 and newsgroups
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2010, 12:03:26 AM »
I am using Agent with 5.0 with no problems.  Is your news server a standard port 119 access, unencrypted, in your Agent settings under tools/servers and accounts?  What shows up under Avast! mail shield/expert settings/ssl accounts?
Windows 7 x64HP-SP1-No UAC, Opera 11.51, Avast! Internet Security 6.0.128, Webroot SecureAnywhere latest beta, Windows FW off, MVPS HOSTS, SAS/MBAM offline, Macrium Reflect just in case ;)

Offline ace2701

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Avast 5 and newsgroups
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2010, 12:17:34 AM »
Thanks spg SCOTT.  Tried it but didn't work. 

sded, Avast shows giganews as port 563.  rr as port 110.  Now have both ssl settings as "none".


Any other ideas?



Offline ace2701

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Avast 5 and newsgroups
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2010, 12:32:03 AM »
HA! Never mind.  Reset the ports, added SMPT, set encryption to none and all
seems to work fine now.  Thanks for all your suggestions.

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4125
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: Avast 5 and newsgroups
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2010, 12:35:15 AM »
Glad you got it solved in the end :)

-Scott-
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman