Author Topic: Upgrade?  (Read 6416 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cska133

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 309
Upgrade?
« on: January 21, 2010, 02:46:27 PM »
well, I thought that when I start the Programm-Update using right click over "a" --> Update --> "Programm update" I will upgrade Avast to version 5. But it it still shows me that the version is actual ???

So how can I upgrade without uninstalling 4.8 ???

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37182

Offline cska133

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 309
Re: Upgrade?
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2010, 05:41:44 PM »
when I install 5 over 4.8 on Win7 it seems like the install process delete the files from 4.8 and after them I can not run version 5. I want to upgrade without uninstalling 4.8

Offline Bluesman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 912
  • Amiga Power!
Re: Upgrade?
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2010, 08:02:05 PM »
and after them I can not run version 5.

And what happen? Do you get any error messages?
"The blues are the roots, everything else is the fruits" -Willie Dixon

Offline cska133

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 309
Re: Upgrade?
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2010, 09:19:05 PM »
ashbase.dll is missing

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86500
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Upgrade?
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2010, 10:02:23 PM »
- Try a repair of avast. Add Remove programs, select 'avast! Anti-Virus,' click the Change/Remove button and scroll down to Repair, click next and follow.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline cska133

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 309
Re: Upgrade?
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2010, 10:47:39 AM »
the problem is when I install 5 over the existing install folder of 4.8 in Win7(64) Windows is saying that the folder exist and all the files will be deleted. So installing over 4.8 in the same folder removes the old files.
I dont know if this is becuase of Windows7 (x64) or is purpose of AVAST?

does someone know how to change this behaviour?

Offline cska133

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 309
Re: Upgrade?
« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2010, 02:44:55 PM »
when I do clean install AvastPro ask about LICENCE FILE >:(
I dont have file, only licence key=serial number

what now?

spg SCOTT

  • Guest
Re: Upgrade?
« Reply #8 on: January 22, 2010, 03:33:55 PM »
Hi cska133,

ALWIL have changed the way licenses work with avast! 5. Now as long as the license is valid, it can be converted into the license file you need.

Use the same address that you used when you bought it.

http://www.avast.com/resend-license.php

You should be emailed with the new file which you can use in the program.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86500
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Upgrade?
« Reply #9 on: January 22, 2010, 03:45:59 PM »
Well when you install avas5 it doesn't install in the avast4 folder, so I don't understand the message, yes it installs in the Alwil Software folder and technically it would overwrite/remove existing files/folders, but it doesn't install anything in the avast4 folder.

So allowing it to proceed I feel would have been the best option as part of that as that would have preserved the license information and converted it to work with avast 5.

Having done a clean install you destroyed that license information, the original license won't work with the new avast 5.0.

Now since I use the free version( it converted the registration with no problem) I don't know how the Pro license file works. There is meant to be an avast page where you can convert the 4.9 license key to a license file, which is emailed to you.

OK after some rummaging, her it is - avast! 5 Pro license convert from 4.8 Pro license. Try http://www.avast.com/resend-license.php now, it should ask for your email and send it to you (presumably it will check you have a legit 4.8 Pro license first).

Edit: whilst off on my rummage, Scott posted the link ;D
« Last Edit: January 22, 2010, 03:47:50 PM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline cska133

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 309
Re: Upgrade?
« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2010, 04:02:21 PM »
thanks.

Quote
Now since I use the free version( it converted the registration with no problem)
Since my girl friend uses AVAST Free how does the convertion in the free version work? Is there convertion to licence file?

spg SCOTT

  • Guest
Re: Upgrade?
« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2010, 04:06:50 PM »
If you install it over 4.8, it will keep the license settings.

If you do a clean/new  install then registation can be found within the program.

Open avast! GUI --> Maintenance -->Registration

(I think there may also be a notification on the summary page until you are registered also...)

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37182
Re: Upgrade?
« Reply #12 on: January 22, 2010, 04:21:31 PM »