Author Topic: Problems with my resolution...  (Read 10352 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rdsu

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • ...
Problems with my resolution...
« on: June 23, 2004, 03:31:25 AM »
Hi,

I'm trying the avast! Home Edition and found problems with my resolution. I have to use the 1400x1050 resolution with 103dpi because the fonts are very small with the normal (96dpi).

Many programs have already thought about this...

See this images:


Avast Free Antivirus: Web Shield & Home Network Security.

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Problems with my resolution...
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2004, 01:38:04 PM »
Are you using some Windows StyleXP theme or WindowBlinds to change appereance of your GUI (Graphical User Interface) in Windows ?

That could be answer to your problem...

Second thing, try changing font size in Windows in DISPLAY PROPERTIES / Appereance... make it NORMAL...

Hope this helps !

Cheers !

Offline rdsu

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • ...
Re:Problems with my resolution...
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2004, 02:19:56 PM »
Are you using some Windows StyleXP theme or WindowBlinds to change appereance of your GUI (Graphical User Interface) in Windows ?

That could be answer to your problem...

Second thing, try changing font size in Windows in DISPLAY PROPERTIES / Appereance... make it NORMAL...

Hope this helps !

Cheers !

I tried with the Windows Classic style, and have the same problem.

I don't want to use the NORMAL dpi, because, as I already said, the fonts size is very small with this resolution...

And the problems only exists in the pictures that I put here...
Avast Free Antivirus: Web Shield & Home Network Security.

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Problems with my resolution...
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2004, 02:26:03 PM »
Well, can't have both my friend...

That's the way how hi-resolutions works. Size "Normal" of the fonts, indicates that this is normal size, and it should stay on normal.
Why don't you use 1024x768 pixels resolution ? I'm using that one and believe me it's more than enough for all my graphic work I do... sometimes, I have more than 5 different applications opened at the same time...

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9384
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:Problems with my resolution...
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2004, 02:27:53 PM »
Why do you need to use such non-standard resolution?
Some special display(screen)?
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline rdsu

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • ...
Re:Problems with my resolution...
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2004, 02:50:25 PM »
Why do you need to use such non-standard resolution?
Some special display(screen)?

Because I use a Notebook with 15", and all the new notebooks have a better support for this resolution...

See this Technical specification about my notebook, here
« Last Edit: June 23, 2004, 02:51:18 PM by VaMPiRiC_CRoW »
Avast Free Antivirus: Web Shield & Home Network Security.

Offline rdsu

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • ...
Re:Problems with my resolution...
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2004, 02:53:32 PM »
Well, can't have both my friend...

That's the way how hi-resolutions works. Size "Normal" of the fonts, indicates that this is normal size, and it should stay on normal.
Why don't you use 1024x768 pixels resolution ? I'm using that one and believe me it's more than enough for all my graphic work I do... sometimes, I have more than 5 different applications opened at the same time...

Before I buy this Notebook, I use that resolution, but with the new notebook with 15" you can't use it...
« Last Edit: June 23, 2004, 02:54:26 PM by VaMPiRiC_CRoW »
Avast Free Antivirus: Web Shield & Home Network Security.

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Problems with my resolution...
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2004, 03:00:20 PM »
Then, you have to alarm Vlk or Igor my friend... Maybe they can do something about that font we can see on your screenshots...

I can see that font on the left hand side is smaller than the font on the right side... maybe they should make both fonts small as left one...

Point their attention to this thread and let us know what they answered to you...

Cheers !

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11805
    • AVAST Software
Re:Problems with my resolution...
« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2004, 03:09:55 PM »
I'm afraid I already tried to find a workaround for the problem with the big fonts and links, but I didn't succeed. It's implemented somewhere deep inside the graphical library...

I can easily resize the control in the registration dialog (there's plenty of space below there), but that's about all. The size of the splash screen is given by the size of the background bitmap, and the text on the left side can be rather long, so I don't want to enlarge the "Stop" button and shrink the other controls. There are a few other problems on other places (the "link" text is too big and clipped occasionally).

Offline rdsu

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • ...
Re:Problems with my resolution...
« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2004, 03:36:34 PM »
OK, no problem ;)
Avast Free Antivirus: Web Shield & Home Network Security.

Offline Kobra

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
  • No Text
Re:Problems with my resolution...
« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2004, 05:33:41 PM »
Nobody uses 1024x768 on their boxes anymore, do they?   :P  I've used at least 1280x1024, my main is at 1600x1200 for about 2 years.

But I didn't notice this problem, perhaps its my font size or whatever.

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Problems with my resolution...
« Reply #11 on: June 23, 2004, 05:39:19 PM »
It's not quite like that... there are still some people who uses their 15" monitor, I know few people still uses 14" monitors... they don't have money to buy new ones, and if they have they like to spend that on some other parts, more important for them at that point...

Actually, I know some people at those comapanies (our customers) where I service computers, they still use 640x480 (Win 95). You should see that... og my God... icons like half of their screen...  ;D

I have 17" Dell beautiful monitor, and I still use 1024x768... I don't wanna kill my eyes with higher resolutions, untill I buy something bigger  ;D I hope soon...
« Last Edit: June 23, 2004, 05:40:50 PM by S.Z.Craftec »

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11805
    • AVAST Software
Re:Problems with my resolution...
« Reply #12 on: June 23, 2004, 06:45:23 PM »
Nobody uses 1024x768 on their boxes anymore, do they?   :P  I've used at least 1280x1024, my main is at 1600x1200 for about 2 years.

Kobra, we know that you have a fast CPU, lots of memory and harddisk, high resolution, and whatever else fast, big and high you may have. The fact is, however, that other people may have different needs or preferences.

I personally use 1024x768 on 17", 1152x864 on 19" and 1280x960 on 21" (which is always the same pixel size, as you can easily check). I find using 1600x1200 on anything smaller than 22" sort of crazy (and most people don't have 22", do they? :))

Anyway, the original problem isn't related to the resolution, but rather to "big fonts" setting that changes the common proportions.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2004, 09:25:00 PM by igor »

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2248
Re:Problems with my resolution...
« Reply #13 on: June 23, 2004, 08:12:42 PM »
I guess old habits die hard -- picked up a new 17" over the winter, and I still keep it at 800x600 with extremely rare exceptions.
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85747
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:Problems with my resolution...
« Reply #14 on: June 23, 2004, 11:23:31 PM »
I have a Dell 17" CRT monitor and the max I can get it to is 1152x864 and that is more than enough for my eyes and 96dpi

I am hoping to get a TFT 17" or 19" (and in both of these I have seen 1200x??? native resolution), you tend to use the native resolution for best results on TFT.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.693) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security