Author Topic: Reinstalling Avast 4.8 need help  (Read 2463 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zone12

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
Reinstalling Avast 4.8 need help
« on: January 27, 2010, 03:35:35 AM »
Ok so I ran the avast uninstaller tool from safe mode, and when I frist tired to reinstall it, it got up to services and crashed. Now it's crashing on registry.
Reformat is a always a fallback, restore disk is however better than a disk partion

Offline waking

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
Re: Reinstalling Avast 4.8 need help
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2010, 05:27:11 AM »
Which version were you uninstalling?

Which version of the uninstall program did you run?

Make sure the uninstaller matches the version you're removing.


Offline zone12

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
Re: Reinstalling Avast 4.8 need help
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2010, 11:24:22 PM »
Well after a day, my dad tried installing avast 5.0, he did manage to install it although the internet went down. The internet also went off after my failed 4.8 installs yesterday. 5.0 worked but avast seems to screw around with the TCP services cause windows firewall and the internet connection to shut off
Reformat is a always a fallback, restore disk is however better than a disk partion

Offline zone12

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
Re: Reinstalling Avast 4.8 need help
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2010, 02:44:16 AM »
Bump, I don't know what to do about avast 5.0  I've uninstalled it through the windows add/remove browser but now my internet is gone. I've tried to repair it but all it gives me is

"Repair has failed to query TCP"

Something on the lines of this.
Reformat is a always a fallback, restore disk is however better than a disk partion

Offline jeffj4873

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: Reinstalling Avast 4.8 need help
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2010, 05:18:52 AM »
Did you go to control panel, under advanced setting for internet properties, you can reset Internet Explorer to factory setting ( at the bottom). You temorarily lose add ons but will make it work.

I have never used the uninstaller. Remove it with windows uninstall and the manually remove anything left upto the Alwil folder.