Author Topic: NEW! avast! 5 pre-release program update [NOW 5.0.394]  (Read 52531 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cazoza

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
  • a pretty malwarefighter! dont u think?
Re: NEW! avast! 5 pre-release program update [NOW 5.0.394]
« Reply #30 on: January 27, 2010, 11:45:55 PM »
This is great!! No problems so far! and i can install 5 pro!! I need to wait for the final setup so i can upgrade from 4.8 to 5. Thankz alwill!
Our actions define who we are

MoBo ASUS P5QC
ATI HD3650 1 Gb RAM PCI-E 2.0
Win 7 Ultimate x64
Quad Core q6600 2.4 GHz
8 Gb RAM DDR2 800 MHz
500 Gb HDD SATA2 32 Mb Buffer 7200 RPM

Avast 5.0.462 Free
Outpost Firewall Pro 2009 v6.7.3

Offline bikemanAMD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
Re: NEW! avast! 5 pre-release program update [NOW 5.0.394]
« Reply #31 on: January 28, 2010, 12:07:40 AM »
So Far Working Good on my Vista Desktop--Had one Freeze on XP SP3 Machine...Will report back if any more issues with this program, otherwise working good and fast

Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center- AMD A6-3620 APU/Radeon 6530D, 8gb DDR3 ram, 1tb hard drive-Avast 9.0.2018  Windows 8.1  Pro 64bit, Windows 8 Firewall
Secondary Laptop: XP 32bit, 60gb hard drive-Avast 9.0.2018
Acer Netop W7 (32bit) 320gb hard drive, Avast 9.0.2018

Offline Mr.Agent

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2769
  • Proud to be an avast! user.
Re: NEW! avast! 5 pre-release program update [NOW 5.0.394]
« Reply #32 on: January 28, 2010, 12:10:01 AM »
If you got a mini dump for the freeze that you had please upload on their ftp server so they can watch what wrong on it.

Offline Avastfan1

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 965
Re: NEW! avast! 5 pre-release program update [NOW 5.0.394]
« Reply #33 on: January 28, 2010, 12:10:05 AM »
Launched the 'update programme' function manually from 5.0.393. It seemed to update ok but froze on step 3/3 and displayed 'web shield'.

Couldn't move the mouse and no other programme was responsive.

Hard reset was the only option. Rebooted successfully and Avast is displaying 5.0.394 as the installed version.

Launched the 'update programme' function manually and it says it is already up to date.

How can I be sure these builds are installing properly (and are installed properly) if each install process freezes?

I have yet to experience BSODs, however I really fear this will appear at some stage. This has been a common occurrence for many users.

Let's get this sorted Alwil! I appreciate you must be working your arses off - so keep up the hard work lads!
Window 7 Home Premium - Avast Pro 7.0.1474 - PC Tools Firewall Plus 7.0.0.123 - MBAM 1.70 - Firefox 17.0.1 - NoScript 2.6.4.2 - Adblock Plus 2.2.1

Offline bikemanAMD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
Re: NEW! avast! 5 pre-release program update [NOW 5.0.394]
« Reply #34 on: January 28, 2010, 12:11:39 AM »
I can see if i can find the Minidump on that XP SP3 PC, and then if i find it, i'll upload it immediately, it was doing a virus scan, and froze so solid, couldn't even wake it from Screensaver mode

Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center- AMD A6-3620 APU/Radeon 6530D, 8gb DDR3 ram, 1tb hard drive-Avast 9.0.2018  Windows 8.1  Pro 64bit, Windows 8 Firewall
Secondary Laptop: XP 32bit, 60gb hard drive-Avast 9.0.2018
Acer Netop W7 (32bit) 320gb hard drive, Avast 9.0.2018

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: NEW! avast! 5 pre-release program update [NOW 5.0.394]
« Reply #35 on: January 28, 2010, 12:13:17 AM »
Avastfan1, the freeze was a typical thing for build 393 (should not happen with 394 though).
To be sure, I would recommend installing 394 from scratch.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline PhilR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: NEW! avast! 5 pre-release program update [NOW 5.0.394]
« Reply #36 on: January 28, 2010, 12:13:51 AM »
Vlk maybe he should make a hijackthis log also with his avast! setup log ?
I did post a setup log when the problem occurred during beta testing in another thread - there seemed to be nothing untoward in there.
AMD Richland A4-4000, 4GB RAM, XP SP3

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: NEW! avast! 5 pre-release program update [NOW 5.0.394]
« Reply #37 on: January 28, 2010, 12:14:32 AM »
I can see if i can find the Minidump on that XP SP3 PC, and then if i find it, i'll upload it immediately, it was doing a virus scan, and froze so solid, couldn't even wake it from Screensaver mode

There's no minidump for freezing...

Anyway, could you at least move the mouse pointer when the freeze occured?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Avastfan1

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 965
Re: NEW! avast! 5 pre-release program update [NOW 5.0.394]
« Reply #38 on: January 28, 2010, 12:14:59 AM »
VLK:

Is the update freeze problem fixed yet?
Window 7 Home Premium - Avast Pro 7.0.1474 - PC Tools Firewall Plus 7.0.0.123 - MBAM 1.70 - Firefox 17.0.1 - NoScript 2.6.4.2 - Adblock Plus 2.2.1

Offline bikemanAMD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
Re: NEW! avast! 5 pre-release program update [NOW 5.0.394]
« Reply #39 on: January 28, 2010, 12:15:41 AM »
Couldn't Move Mouse, Nor Did Control Alt Delete work at all, ended up pressing restart on the tower

Both on my Vista PC and This one XP SP3 Machine was clean installs to This Version..377 on other Household PC's, but not updating those yet due to no issues experience on that one, just wanted lastest version on Vista PC, since just switched from MSE for Good, Removed MSE thru Add/Remove Programs, and used CCcleaner as well

Vista PC is running fine so far

Trying another Full scan on XP SP3 Machine
« Last Edit: January 28, 2010, 12:18:09 AM by bikemanAMD »
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center- AMD A6-3620 APU/Radeon 6530D, 8gb DDR3 ram, 1tb hard drive-Avast 9.0.2018  Windows 8.1  Pro 64bit, Windows 8 Firewall
Secondary Laptop: XP 32bit, 60gb hard drive-Avast 9.0.2018
Acer Netop W7 (32bit) 320gb hard drive, Avast 9.0.2018

Offline Avastfan1

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 965
Re: NEW! avast! 5 pre-release program update [NOW 5.0.394]
« Reply #40 on: January 28, 2010, 12:16:22 AM »
I would be more than happy to send Alwil a dump (LOL), however I don't have the experience to follow those instructions you posted and muck around with my registry settings.
Window 7 Home Premium - Avast Pro 7.0.1474 - PC Tools Firewall Plus 7.0.0.123 - MBAM 1.70 - Firefox 17.0.1 - NoScript 2.6.4.2 - Adblock Plus 2.2.1

Offline Avastfan1

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 965
Re: NEW! avast! 5 pre-release program update [NOW 5.0.394]
« Reply #41 on: January 28, 2010, 12:17:35 AM »
Question: How secure are our systems while the beta-versions are loaded? :O
Window 7 Home Premium - Avast Pro 7.0.1474 - PC Tools Firewall Plus 7.0.0.123 - MBAM 1.70 - Firefox 17.0.1 - NoScript 2.6.4.2 - Adblock Plus 2.2.1

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: NEW! avast! 5 pre-release program update [NOW 5.0.394]
« Reply #42 on: January 28, 2010, 12:18:05 AM »
bikemanAMD, can you please check the size and date of the file C:\windows\system32\drivers\aswSP.sys for me?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline RNfromTN

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 670
  • surfin sandboxed
Re: NEW! avast! 5 pre-release program update [NOW 5.0.394]
« Reply #43 on: January 28, 2010, 12:21:17 AM »
Hi , I just did a install of 5.0.394 on a new snapshot of my xp home. No other security except fortinet fw.
I was able to see my browser's web pages until I installed avast. ???
Things seem to be working fine otherwise. :)
Sandboxie| IFW|Outpost firewall|Norton Ghost|Win XP,Vista,7
member since 2005| Linux Mint user

Offline bikemanAMD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
Re: NEW! avast! 5 pre-release program update [NOW 5.0.394]
« Reply #44 on: January 28, 2010, 12:21:57 AM »
on XP SP3 Machine aswsp.sys File version is 5.0.374.0, Date is 1/27/2010 4:14P.M., size 160kbs

Gonna Use the Avast 5 Removal Tool on the XP SP3 Machine, it froze again lol, but i'll give that a shot and do a clean install and report back if issue continues

« Last Edit: January 28, 2010, 12:26:03 AM by bikemanAMD »
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center- AMD A6-3620 APU/Radeon 6530D, 8gb DDR3 ram, 1tb hard drive-Avast 9.0.2018  Windows 8.1  Pro 64bit, Windows 8 Firewall
Secondary Laptop: XP 32bit, 60gb hard drive-Avast 9.0.2018
Acer Netop W7 (32bit) 320gb hard drive, Avast 9.0.2018