Author Topic: [5.0.394] Computer freezes at end of install [fixed in 5.0.396]  (Read 11950 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: [5.0.394] Computer freezes at end of install
« Reply #15 on: January 28, 2010, 08:26:57 AM »
PhilR, it seems I have bad news. The upload didn't complete successfully. That is, the file doesn't seem to be valid :-\

The file size is correct (i.e. the file seems to have uploaded in its entirety). However, it seems to have incorrect CRC.  :(

And it's obviously some kind of solid archive, so I can't even recover it...
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline PhilR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: [5.0.394] Computer freezes at end of install
« Reply #16 on: January 28, 2010, 08:37:39 AM »
Sorry about that, I should have tested the archive integrity before uploading....

It is going to be a while before I can do it again, unfortunately.
AMD Richland A4-4000, 4GB RAM, XP SP3

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: [5.0.394] Computer freezes at end of install
« Reply #17 on: January 28, 2010, 08:48:08 AM »
So you think the archive was already corrupted before you uploaded it? I thought it just got corrupted while in transit...

Anyway, it's possible that it is only slightly corrupted (e.g. just a few bytes are different)... do you have access to the file right now?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline PhilR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: [5.0.394] Computer freezes at end of install
« Reply #18 on: January 28, 2010, 09:14:29 AM »
No, I don't.  I'll reboot using the /maxmem boot.ini switch and generate a smaller dump file.
AMD Richland A4-4000, 4GB RAM, XP SP3

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11711
    • AVAST Software
Re: [5.0.394] Computer freezes at end of install
« Reply #19 on: January 28, 2010, 09:16:38 AM »
Well, if you still have that file somewhere, and if the corruption occurred "on the way" (i.e. the original file is OK), we can create a tool that checks the hashes of smaller blocks of the file... then find the corrupted block and send only that one.

Offline PhilR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: [5.0.394] Computer freezes at end of install
« Reply #20 on: January 28, 2010, 11:45:54 AM »
OK, I've booted with maxmem=1024, forced the bluescreen and recreated the memory.dmp.

I am currently uploading InstallHang.zip (399,040,911 bytes).  Upload should be complete in about 4 hours.  If that fails, I'll upload it from work tomorrow, where I've got an insane amount of bandwidth  :)

Sorry for any inconvenience.

Phil
AMD Richland A4-4000, 4GB RAM, XP SP3

Offline twl845

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
Re: [5.0.394] Computer freezes at end of install
« Reply #21 on: January 28, 2010, 02:55:25 PM »
PhilR, I uninstalled my NOD32 using the Eset uninstall in the menu, and used the advice from Eset to go to Windows and Program files and delete 4 files if I remember right, and then deleted a few entrees from the registry. Then, satisfied that Eset was cleaned out of my computer I installed Avast!5. Avast is running fine. As stated before, simply deactivating Eset doesn't cut it. I have seen folks in other instances in the past who were unable to install a particular app because they neglected to delete one file in the old app. If I'm wrong you can always reinstall your Eset later as long as you have your key.  ;)
A clear conscience is a sign of a bad memory.

DELL8300 - WIN7 64x, 8GB RAM, 1.5TB HD, Avast! PRO 2014, Outpost Pro FW,  MBAM PRO real time, SpywareBlaster 5, Superantispyware on demand

Offline hash2r

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: [5.0.394] Computer freezes at end of install
« Reply #22 on: January 28, 2010, 03:16:03 PM »
hi every one..am new here,but pls i need your help with my avasst, anytime i dowload the updates..it refuses to update..i am also using the new version 5.0.377..
the firewall on the office server prevents it from updating automatically, so with version 4.8 i was able to download and instal updates but with this new version i cant..please can any1 help me?
this is the error it shows
SI: 0x00000002
ST:0xFFFFFFFE
LE:0x00000000

Offline PhilR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: [5.0.394] Computer freezes at end of install
« Reply #23 on: January 28, 2010, 04:01:51 PM »
I am currently uploading InstallHang.zip (399,040,911 bytes).  Upload should be complete in about 4 hours.

This time it uploaded successfully  ;D
AMD Richland A4-4000, 4GB RAM, XP SP3

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11711
    • AVAST Software
Re: [5.0.394] Computer freezes at end of install
« Reply #24 on: January 28, 2010, 04:40:31 PM »
The dump unpacks correctly this time... now let's hope Vlk will find the problem inside.

Offline Francois Blais

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: [5.0.394] Computer freezes at end of install
« Reply #25 on: January 28, 2010, 04:53:09 PM »
Same as before.

System hangs at end of install.  Can move mouse, drag the installer window (but it leaves trails).  ctrl-alt-del brings up expected dialogue box, but task manager won't start.  Alternatively, a shutdown and reboot (instead of task manager) hangs.  Hard reset only way out.  Been like this for me since build 5.0.314 or the previous beta, if I recall correctly.  No other AV, uninstalled, rebooted, new Avast removal utility run, rebooted, and then installed, so all was clean.

Freeze makes screenshot impossible...

I can run process explorer during install, but really don't know what I should be looking for.

Getting a bit tired of reporting this over and over with no resolution, to be honest.
Do you use MBAM real-time?
If so, uncheck the option to have it load at start-up.
Then reboot in safe mode, uninstall AVAST 5, reboot in normal mode and then reinstall it.
Does it work that time?

I had the same problem with build 377 and MBAM real-time was the "cause".
I'm now waiting after a working build before trying AVAST 5 again...

Seems they,re doing the same mistake ESET did when they released NOD32 v3.
Released too early.
Old P3-1000 with 512MB RAM.
XP Pro SP3 (french locale).
XP's own firewall.
No other real-time security app running, besides AVAST 5.1.884 Free.

Offline PhilR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: [5.0.394] Computer freezes at end of install
« Reply #26 on: January 28, 2010, 04:57:10 PM »
Do you use MBAM real-time?

No, I just use the free version of MBAM for on-demand scans
AMD Richland A4-4000, 4GB RAM, XP SP3

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: [5.0.394] Computer freezes at end of install
« Reply #27 on: January 28, 2010, 04:59:21 PM »
Just on time... I'm gonna look at it shortly. Thanks.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: [5.0.394] Computer freezes at end of install
« Reply #28 on: January 28, 2010, 05:33:09 PM »
I see the problem now. Interesting, but relatively easy to fix.

By the way, the same problem must have already occured with avast v4.8. Have you used avast (4.8) in the past?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline PhilR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: [5.0.394] Computer freezes at end of install
« Reply #29 on: January 28, 2010, 05:37:11 PM »
I see the problem now. Interesting, but relatively easy to fix.

By the way, the same problem must have already occured with avast v4.8. Have you used avast (4.8) in the past?

Thanks
Vlk
Avast 4.8 always worked on my PC, as did earlier (pre-5.0.314) betas of 5.x which I'd tried.  I didn't test all builds, though...

I'm not going to try to tempt fate by reinstalling 4.8 to check :)

I'm glad you've found it, though.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2010, 05:41:56 PM by PhilR »
AMD Richland A4-4000, 4GB RAM, XP SP3