Author Topic: Avast 5.0.396 not in Beta?  (Read 5186 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline -Genesis-

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
Avast 5.0.396 not in Beta?
« on: January 29, 2010, 09:09:41 AM »
Is this version commercial release? I mean its not beta?

It warns my 3.0.377 version to update.

I hope Avast Website will update their new releases like before in v4.8 so we can check the latest Program version and Virus Database.

Because it seems i cant find any update except only in Avast Tray.

Or

Im missing the site link?
Windows 10 Pro 1909/ Windows Defender/
Ryzen 5 1600/ Aorus Gtx 1080Ti Xtreme/ Gskill Trident Z RGB 3000/ Samsung Evo 250GB/ Western Digital Black 1 TB

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11808
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast 5.0.396 not in Beta?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2010, 09:10:52 AM »
If you get a notification from your existing non-beta version (that a new version is available), then it's certainly a release version.

Offline waking

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
Re: Avast 5.0.396 not in Beta?
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2010, 09:21:17 AM »
It's unfortunate that the avast! web site is in such a state of transition.
Too many links lead to 404 pages, or to pages from the old site, or partially
complete pages, etc.

Offline -Genesis-

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
Re: Avast 5.0.396 not in Beta?
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2010, 09:39:01 AM »
Tnx Igor and waking.

Igor, I hope your team will put in Website updates so we can check the latest Virus database and Programs.

Why?

Because of the Version 5 issues we really dont know if our Avast 5 is really fully functional and 100% updated.
Windows 10 Pro 1909/ Windows Defender/
Ryzen 5 1600/ Aorus Gtx 1080Ti Xtreme/ Gskill Trident Z RGB 3000/ Samsung Evo 250GB/ Western Digital Black 1 TB

Offline DarkLegend

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: Avast 5.0.396 not in Beta?
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2010, 09:41:21 AM »
Apparently build .396  was released to public now.

can't update through the program interface, will have to download and update with the installer, no big deal  ;)

Wait for ~5 more minutes till the server farm is synchronized.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2010, 09:50:33 AM by DarkLegend »
Windows 7 Home Premium,64-bit OS, AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+ 2.80 GHz, 3.00 GB (RAM), avast! 4.8,Windows Firewall, Spyware Blaster 4.2, Mozilla Firefox, MBAM Free

Offline -Genesis-

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
Re: Avast 5.0.396 not in Beta?
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2010, 09:54:24 AM »
Vlk post that before and ive read it.

Im requesting this for all of us people using Avast.

Like before been commercial release the V 5.

Their main website not in forums always post updates in Programs and Virus Data Base.

I hope they will put updates in main site so all people could know the latest Program and VDB because mostly people really dont read in forums.

Or im missing the main site link for the latest updates?


Windows 10 Pro 1909/ Windows Defender/
Ryzen 5 1600/ Aorus Gtx 1080Ti Xtreme/ Gskill Trident Z RGB 3000/ Samsung Evo 250GB/ Western Digital Black 1 TB

Offline DarkLegend

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: Avast 5.0.396 not in Beta?
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2010, 09:59:59 AM »
There isn't one as far as I know.. Unless it's hidden somewhere. They used to have one back when the site was avast 4.8. Not sure why they ditched it... I agree with you, It was nice to know if you had the latest program / virus definition updates by double-checking the site if need be.

Since it there were a few occasions the update process reaches people later than others, but if you knew it was out you could force update it to the most recent one.
Windows 7 Home Premium,64-bit OS, AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+ 2.80 GHz, 3.00 GB (RAM), avast! 4.8,Windows Firewall, Spyware Blaster 4.2, Mozilla Firefox, MBAM Free

Offline waking

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
Re: Avast 5.0.396 not in Beta?
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2010, 10:08:32 AM »
The versions used to show on the Home page, but aren't there now.

Also clicking on "Support" from the Home page takes you to the "Support" page.
But if you click on "Virus Monitor" at the right of that page, you are
taken to an incomplete page. Clicking on the history links at the right
also take you to incomplete pages or 404.

Offline -Genesis-

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
Re: Avast 5.0.396 not in Beta?
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2010, 10:09:01 AM »
Yeah!

And

Thank for understanding my situation.

Actually this is for all of us not confusing the Version.

V 5.0.396 is public release now.

Finish update it.
Windows 10 Pro 1909/ Windows Defender/
Ryzen 5 1600/ Aorus Gtx 1080Ti Xtreme/ Gskill Trident Z RGB 3000/ Samsung Evo 250GB/ Western Digital Black 1 TB

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: Avast 5.0.396 not in Beta?
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2010, 10:22:02 AM »
It is available now. :)
printed on 100% recycled bytes

Offline DarkLegend

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: Avast 5.0.396 not in Beta?
« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2010, 10:30:13 AM »

Also clicking on "Support" from the Home page takes you to the "Support" page.
But if you click on "Virus Monitor" at the right of that page, you are
taken to an incomplete page. Clicking on the history links at the right
also take you to incomplete pages or 404.


 ??? That doesn't happen to me.. they work just fine... strange...

look
Windows 7 Home Premium,64-bit OS, AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+ 2.80 GHz, 3.00 GB (RAM), avast! 4.8,Windows Firewall, Spyware Blaster 4.2, Mozilla Firefox, MBAM Free

Offline waking

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
Re: Avast 5.0.396 not in Beta?
« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2010, 10:44:41 AM »
Your language setting on that page is Worldwide (English). Try changing it to
Canada (English), and then to Czech.

Note also the dates on the histogram in your pic - not exactly current.