Author Topic: 6 GB temp size???  (Read 10492 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45222
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:6 GB temp size???
« Reply #15 on: June 30, 2004, 05:07:48 PM »
Technical,
Which screen saver are you using (or is that unimportant?).
I just checked my _avast temp file but it's empty.
MY VRDB is set to only update when computer is idle if that makes a difference???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline big_gie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re:6 GB temp size???
« Reply #16 on: June 30, 2004, 05:14:52 PM »
I don't use the screen saver thing. I set avast! to run twice a day, at specific hours.

I'll try to figure what type of archieve it is...

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:6 GB temp size???
« Reply #17 on: June 30, 2004, 05:35:36 PM »
Technical,
Which screen saver are you using (or is that unimportant?).
I just checked my _avast temp file but it's empty.

Is your avast screen saver module on or not?
I think the screen saver is irrelevant in the case.
I tested: empty the temp folder, do not run anything, wait the screen saver and after some time stop it... files are left behind  :(

MY VRDB is set to only update when computer is idle if that makes a difference???

I think there is nothing to do with VRDB...
The best things in life are free.

Offline big_gie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re:6 GB temp size???
« Reply #18 on: June 30, 2004, 05:40:17 PM »
I had a files about 540Mb, so I've looked at my archieves whitch was about that size, and I scaned them manualy (left mouse bouton in explorer, then select "scan...") and nothing appeared in the C:\Windows\Temp\_avast_ ! Maybe since I was logged on the temp folder is somewhere else... Maybe the problem occurs when nobody is logged on and the temp folder is C:\Windows\Temp...

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:6 GB temp size???
« Reply #19 on: June 30, 2004, 06:06:48 PM »
When you're using an interactive scan the TEMP folder is somewhere like

C:\Documents And Settings\<your_name>\Local Settings\Temp

Note that the Local Settings folder has the hidden attribute so you won't see it in Explorer with its default settings...
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline big_gie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re:6 GB temp size???
« Reply #20 on: June 30, 2004, 06:46:50 PM »
Hum,
I've checked under C:\Documents and Settings\<name>\Local Settings\Temp\_avast4_ and I don't have anything... So if avast had uncompress files there, it deleted them to... (I scanned .iso, .zip and .rar)

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:6 GB temp size???
« Reply #21 on: June 30, 2004, 06:51:08 PM »
Well that's how it should've been done. This is the normal state. :)

It would be quite interesting to find out exactly which archives contain the files you found in the Windows TEMP folder.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:6 GB temp size???
« Reply #22 on: June 30, 2004, 08:19:31 PM »
It would be quite interesting to find out exactly which archives contain the files you found in the Windows TEMP folder.

Right now I cleaned that folder... (C:\Windows\Temp)
If I can detect something, I'll let you know. Hope this help.  ::)
The best things in life are free.