Author Topic: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396  (Read 15161 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2251
Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
« Reply #15 on: February 04, 2010, 09:42:38 PM »
I'm running the free (non-resident) MBAM and have had no problems.  Judging by posts from others, conflicts between MBAM and avast 5 seem to be mostly, maybe entirely, with the paid version of MBAM.  As David R suggested, if you disable the resident protection in MBAM, that seems to eliminate the conflict in nearly all cases.
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline SERBIA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
« Reply #16 on: February 05, 2010, 03:47:44 AM »
The resident protection element (under the Protection tab of the settings), I don't have a problem in running on-demand scans with MBAM.

I just did that and no more problems.
Thank you all ;)

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84114
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
« Reply #17 on: February 05, 2010, 03:32:48 PM »
You're welcome, glad that everything is now functioning.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.9.2437 (build 20.9.5758.0) UI-1.0.579/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline joey3155

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
« Reply #18 on: February 05, 2010, 03:59:30 PM »
I have

Avast 4.8 (real time protection kept on)
MBAM (no real time scanner)
Spyware Blaster
Spyware Terminator (real time scanner kept on)
Spybot (no real time protection except host protection)
SuperAntiSpyware (Is there real time protection for this?)
Spyware Doctor (currently disabled, pending my decision to get rid of it. Super ceded by Spyware Terminator)
Avira AntiVir (no real time protection used)
Outpost Firewall

So my question is if I uninstall Avast 4.8 since I only have 24 days left on the product key and install 5.0 will I encounter program conflicts? Also what are the problem inherent to 5.0 that have been discovered.

Offline Shiw Liang

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1436
Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
« Reply #19 on: February 05, 2010, 04:02:19 PM »
That much protection is not recommended :)
You better you an antivirus and antispyware(avast)
Plus a scanner or two(MBAM and SAS)
Plus a firewall it is already good :)
Plus some add ons in firefox like WOT ;D

Offline Mr.Agent

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2769
  • Proud to be an avast! user.
Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
« Reply #20 on: February 05, 2010, 04:14:10 PM »
Wow you got about 1500000 anti virus and anti spyware.

Wow !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Remember that some people only use avast!,Malwarebytes,Windows Defender and 2 ways firewall and their pc is very fast and protected alot. So you dont need like 150 security program for be so much protected... Wow...

Site Advisor i would say it isnt needed excepted if your a guy who click every site you see in a page.

Other wise Web Shield of avast! isnt that bad. My self i never got problem with it ;D

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2100
Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
« Reply #21 on: February 05, 2010, 06:39:12 PM »
See my signature for the security programs on my system.  I'm having no problems with Avast 5.0.396 at all.  Except for the SpyBot S&D IE Protection (BHO) SDHelper.dll which loads when Internet Explorer is loaded, I have no other active protection enabled besides Avast 5.

The rest of the programs are on-demand only.  I do have the immunizations by SpywareBlaster and SpyBot Search & Destroy enabled, but they are in a sense passive.

I use Firefox as my primary browser with NoScript and AdBlock Plus plus other extensions.  Anyone using Internet Explorer should read http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/advisory/980088.mspx.  I don't know if Patch Tuesday next week will address this or not.  I did use the Fix-It-Now link provided at http://support.microsoft.com/kb/980088.  That said, I believe that all browsers have security flaws, both detected and undetected.  Whether the criminals find them first is a matter of luck. :P

Absolute security is a goal which will probably never be achieved. :-\
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

Offline pogo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
« Reply #22 on: February 05, 2010, 06:53:09 PM »
hi just use Avast 5 for real time protection, and malwarebytes free as on demand scanner, and a decent firewall like comodo with HIPS enabled.

Offline waking

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
« Reply #23 on: February 05, 2010, 07:52:02 PM »

Offline joey3155

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
« Reply #24 on: February 05, 2010, 09:43:17 PM »
So I don't have to worry about Avast 5 and compatibility with my other programs? If not, then I'll install it today...

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2100
Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
« Reply #25 on: February 05, 2010, 09:57:19 PM »
So I don't have to worry about Avast 5 and compatibility with my other programs? If not, then I'll install it today...

Not sure about Spyware Terminator (real time scanner kept on) that you mentioned. :-\  You can answer that after updating to Avast 5. ;)  Perhaps another forum member is using it, and can answer beforehand.
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

Offline crozbone12

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
« Reply #26 on: February 06, 2010, 04:09:09 AM »
Im really frustrated with the new avast 5.. It has lots of bugs but still released.. Everytime I open my computer I have to restart it due to conflict with MBAM so I didn't allow the MBAM on startup but a while ago I was running the MBAM scanner then my system freeze, I rebooted the PC and run the MBAM scan again and it still freezes.. Im switching AV for now.. Don't wanna wait till it completely destroys my computer due to consistent freezes and bugs on this release.. :/

Offline cyberqtf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
« Reply #27 on: February 06, 2010, 05:43:34 AM »
So I don't have to worry about Avast 5 and compatibility with my other programs? If not, then I'll install it today...
I had a serious problem with Avast 5 (free) and Outpost Firewall Pro on my Windows 7 netbook.  All was well when I had Avast 4.8, but as soon as I upgraded to version 5, I could no longer access the Internet when I was using Outpost and Avast.  Since I had paid for Outpost, and since lots of people were reporting problems with Avast, I decided to stop using Avast, at least until more of the bugs are fixed.  I replaced it with Microsoft Security Essentials.  That's working fine with Outpost Pro and with MBAM Pro real-time protection.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2010, 05:46:44 AM by cyberqtf »

Offline Francois Blais

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
« Reply #28 on: February 06, 2010, 01:34:23 PM »
Avira also works perfectly well with MBAM real-time.
I'm wondering if the people at Alwil are still working on that incompatibility.
They don't give any feedback on that issue here in the forum.
Old P3-1000 with 512MB RAM.
XP Pro SP3 (french locale).
XP's own firewall.
No other real-time security app running, besides AVAST 5.1.884 Free.

Offline fhoegler43

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: The problem with Avast! Free Antivirus 5.0.396
« Reply #29 on: February 06, 2010, 09:53:23 PM »
Still a piece of junk. I have Windows XP SP3.I uninstalled 4.8, deleted the couple of registry entries left and the folder in the "programs folder. Restarted and installed 5.0.396. went online download e-mail using Thunderbird and started Firefox 3.6 within a second or two Firefox froze. Thunderbird froze and then the who puter froze had to hold the power button to get puter to restart. Same problems as before with 5.0.377. No mbam or windows defender on Zonealarm. Unistalled 5.0.396 and reinstalled 4.8 and everything is working OK. Last time I try 5 until there is a 5.1 and nobody is having any problems.
Windows 8, ZT puter with Intel I7 gen 3, 16 mb Ram, 60 gb Solid state "C" drive, 172 gb "D" hard drive. Firefox 24, Comodo Free Firewall