Author Topic: Disable avast  (Read 14766 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85956
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Disable avast
« Reply #15 on: February 08, 2010, 10:16:44 PM »
It is basically as Scott said, you are confused about what a resident scanner does (the file system shield), it scans files that are assessed before they are run to ensure they aren't infected. This is entirely separate to the 'on-demand' scan that you initiate.

You have to leave the File System Shield enabled or you have no resident protection and this is what the Windows Security Center is telling you, that the resident antivirus scanner is off.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline bexar656

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
Re: Disable avast
« Reply #16 on: February 08, 2010, 10:22:12 PM »
Then if I read you correctly I now have no antivirus protection?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85956
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Disable avast
« Reply #17 on: February 08, 2010, 11:16:25 PM »
Wrong, if you did as I said and started the file system shield you are protected (and WSC recognises that and no longer tells you your AV is disabled). That is the whole point of resident antivirus protection, it is always running in the background protecting your system, as a file is to be run (on-access) avast would first scan it (in the background without you having to do anything).

You don't have to do on-demand scans if you don't want to but a weekly scan that is what many do.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline bexar656

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
Re: Disable avast
« Reply #18 on: February 09, 2010, 12:51:07 AM »
Thanks David. I'm sorry to be such a knucklehead about this but I just don't seem to have a computer brain.  I can fix most mechanical things tho.  I guess I was born years to late.  By the way. I lived in England, (South Ruislip), for ten years and loved it. Even married an English girl.  Thanks again.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85956
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Disable avast
« Reply #19 on: February 09, 2010, 01:22:19 AM »
You're welcome.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline CharleyO

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7085
  • Be alert for error code - ID 10T
Re: Disable avast
« Reply #20 on: February 09, 2010, 10:53:45 AM »
***

Yes, open the avast GUI and make sure Summary is selected on the left side. At the top of the GUI, you will see your answer. Click the images below to enlarge.


***
Self-built desktop (8 years old) - AMD64 3200+_Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939_4 gb RAM_GeForceFX 5800w/256 ram_XP/SP3_Avast 7_MBAM_ZA Free __and__ Toshiba Satellite Laptop_W7-64bit_ 4 gb Ram_Avast 8_MBAM

Offline bexar656

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
Re: Disable avast
« Reply #21 on: February 09, 2010, 06:29:24 PM »
Sorry, but what is the GUI. I've look all over avast for something with those letters but can't locate it.

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4124
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: Disable avast
« Reply #22 on: February 09, 2010, 06:30:25 PM »
I think CharleyO is mistaken here, you are using 4.8 aren't you?
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline bexar656

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
Re: Disable avast
« Reply #23 on: February 09, 2010, 06:55:41 PM »
Yes. I'm using 4.8

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4124
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: Disable avast
« Reply #24 on: February 09, 2010, 06:58:02 PM »
That's ok then, Charley's post was in reference to version 5, so it would seem odd...
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85956
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Disable avast
« Reply #25 on: February 09, 2010, 07:17:22 PM »
Yes. I'm using 4.8

Then check this - What avast processes are running in Task Manager, they begin with ash or asw, see image (click to enlarge), ashServ.exe being the main scanning engine and needs to be running. ?

Left click the avast icon, and the on-access scanner window opens.
- click the Details... >> button if it is showing.
- now you should see all the individual shields, the Standard Shield is the resident scanner and needs to be running.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline bexar656

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
Re: Disable avast
« Reply #26 on: February 09, 2010, 08:07:49 PM »
Yes it shows it running.

Offline CharleyO

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7085
  • Be alert for error code - ID 10T
Re: Disable avast
« Reply #27 on: February 09, 2010, 08:41:46 PM »
***

OOPS ... sorry about that as I seemed to have missed that he was on 4.8    :-[


***
Self-built desktop (8 years old) - AMD64 3200+_Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939_4 gb RAM_GeForceFX 5800w/256 ram_XP/SP3_Avast 7_MBAM_ZA Free __and__ Toshiba Satellite Laptop_W7-64bit_ 4 gb Ram_Avast 8_MBAM

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85956
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Disable avast
« Reply #28 on: February 09, 2010, 09:04:50 PM »
Yes it shows it running.

Which means you are protected.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline bexar656

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
Re: Disable avast
« Reply #29 on: February 10, 2010, 01:02:35 AM »
Thanks again.