Author Topic: AVAST 5 can't update program or virus definitions  (Read 19877 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gandalf2010

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: AVAST 5 can't update program or virus definitions
« Reply #15 on: February 16, 2010, 08:51:57 PM »
i downloaded all the facilities of the main vendors of AV,  a hour ago i reboot my PC to safe mood,
and removed all of them including AVAST, in order to understand if the problem is HW or AV conflict.
when i restarted again the samrt6 (Gigabyte utility) stopped working, everything else worked PERFECT.
after testing the memory with the live CD (downloading may take a while) i will reinstall AVAST and report.

thanks for the advises. 


PC: i5, 4GB, Gigabyte mother board, Nvidia GeForce210 display adapter, audio/ethernet on board.
SW: win7 home premium (legal copy, self installation after format, NTFS), smart6 (gigabyte), firefox, deamon tool lite (free version).

Offline nuz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: AVAST 5 can't update program or virus definitions
« Reply #16 on: February 16, 2010, 10:26:14 PM »
I've got a similar problem, though less severe. I'm running XP SP3 on a Pentium Dual core 2.5 GHz machine with 2 GB RAM. I upgraded to version 5.0.418 from 4.8 on the 15th, and since then it has not updated automatically. It updates manually with no problems, but doesn't even try to auto update. The last (manual) attempt was at 4.24 am on the 16th. I'm writing this at 3 am on the 17th. It's set to auto update every 240 minutes using IE's proxy settings.

The setup log is attached below in two parts.

Offline nuz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: AVAST 5 can't update program or virus definitions
« Reply #17 on: February 16, 2010, 10:27:43 PM »
And Part 2. It's apparently too big to fit in one post

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: AVAST 5 can't update program or virus definitions
« Reply #18 on: February 16, 2010, 10:45:41 PM »
So your screen will show time-intervalls greater than 240 mins? see screenshot.
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline psw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: AVAST 5 can't update program or virus definitions
« Reply #19 on: February 16, 2010, 10:48:20 PM »
I found that no attempts for automatical update is made when avast5.ini AssumeAlwaysConnected is equal to 0.
I'm using modm so after install I have changed update parameters to UseRAS=1 and AssumeAlwaysConnected=0. This results to update disabling, modification date/time fir the corresponding setup.log file was not changed at all. When I changed parameter to AssumeAlwaysConnected=1 I got updates with interval 60 minutes immediately (probably default value for PRO, but my UpdatePeriod parameter was 240). After rebooting update period becomes be equal to expected value 240 minutes.

Offline nuz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: AVAST 5 can't update program or virus definitions
« Reply #20 on: February 17, 2010, 03:47:06 PM »
Zynsdoff, more like the attached image. Note the time on the bottom right.
PSW, if I understand right, you're saying that selecting the permanently connected option will allow it to auto update?

Thanks.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2010, 03:55:53 PM by nuz »

Offline psw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: AVAST 5 can't update program or virus definitions
« Reply #21 on: February 17, 2010, 04:30:45 PM »
@nuz
Yes, in my case turning this option on results to autoupdate had appeared.

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: AVAST 5 can't update program or virus definitions
« Reply #22 on: February 17, 2010, 04:55:21 PM »
@nuz
Yes, in my case turning this option on results to autoupdate had appeared.

Did this solve the problem?
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline gandalf2010

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: AVAST 5 can't update program or virus definitions
« Reply #23 on: February 17, 2010, 07:16:06 PM »
Several updates  8)

after uninstalling all AV available in safe mood, and system testing/ memory testing (thanks to Zyndstoff)
i set a stable system 0 errors.
i installed AVAST, and reboot, i have no errors at this time.
Hope that everything will continue perfectly.

probably there was Northon AV utility in some Gigabyte application which stopped functioning
after using Northon removal tool.
uninstalling this followed as well by good installation of AVAST seems to end the errors torture.
PC: i5, 4GB, Gigabyte mother board, Nvidia GeForce210 display adapter, audio/ethernet on board.
SW: win7 home premium (legal copy, self installation after format, NTFS), smart6 (gigabyte), firefox, deamon tool lite (free version).

Offline nuz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: AVAST 5 can't update program or virus definitions
« Reply #24 on: February 17, 2010, 07:25:46 PM »
Yes
After turning the always connected option on it updated by itself at 20.48. Now, hopefully it'll do so again in 24 minutes.

Thanks again.

BTW is it just me or does anyone else think the new icon looks like a tennis ball?

Offline gandalf2010

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: AVAST 5 can't update program or virus definitions
« Reply #25 on: February 17, 2010, 07:48:40 PM »
 :(
after installing AVAST 5 again a blue screen crash occurred!
it happened after i "woke up" the system from the screen saver.

i really don't know what to do except uninstalling AVAST...
PC: i5, 4GB, Gigabyte mother board, Nvidia GeForce210 display adapter, audio/ethernet on board.
SW: win7 home premium (legal copy, self installation after format, NTFS), smart6 (gigabyte), firefox, deamon tool lite (free version).

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: AVAST 5 can't update program or virus definitions
« Reply #26 on: February 18, 2010, 08:21:36 AM »
That is bad.
Are you sure it's avast, that causes this? I presume you have installed the appropriate chipset-drivers?

Disable the screen-saver. That's something nobody really needs when using LCD monitors since they don't "burn in" any pictures. It's better to set the energy-savings to shut down the monitor after a specified time, that saves at least some energy.  ;)

Don't uninstall yet, just deactivate the screensaver and observe - and wait for a dev to look at this thread (which I tried to facilitate right now).

Please respond.
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8786
Re: AVAST 5 can't update program or virus definitions
« Reply #27 on: February 18, 2010, 10:10:11 AM »
@ gandalf2010

Quote
Update - Restart Issues After Installing MS10-015 and the Alureon Rootkit
Hi,
We wanted to provide you with an update on our ongoing investigation into the “blue screen” issues affecting a limited number of customers who installed MS10-015.  We have been working around the clock with our customers, partners and several teams at Microsoft to determine the cause of these issues.  Our investigation has concluded that the reboot occurs because the system is infected with malware, specifically the Alureon rootkit.  We were able to reach this conclusion after the comprehensive analysis of memory dumps obtained from multiple customer machines and extensive testing against third party applications and software.  The restarts are the result of modifications the Alureon rootkit makes to Windows Kernel binaries, which places these systems in an unstable state.  In every investigated incident, we have not found quality issues with security update MS10-015.  Our guidance remains the same: customers should continue to deploy this month’s security updates and make sure their systems are up-to-date with the latest anti-virus software.
 
http://blogs.technet.com/msrc/archive/2010/02/17/update-restart-issues-after-installing-ms10-015-and-the-alureon-rootkit.aspx
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: AVAST 5 can't update program or virus definitions
« Reply #28 on: February 18, 2010, 10:16:01 AM »
YoKenny... that refers to XP only.
The OP is running Win7, and it's a rather fresh install as well.
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline terminator53

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: AVAST 5 can't update program or virus definitions
« Reply #29 on: March 24, 2010, 06:42:40 AM »
Hi all,

I am using Avast anti virus program version 5.0.377.

When i first installed it in my PC( In jan 2010) it used to give me updates properly.

But recently i un-installed it and again tried to install it. But it was not allowing me to install it again saying beta version is expired. So i changed my system date to previous month and successfully installed Avast.

But now when i try to manually update Avast it shows me following info.

Engine and definitions - already up to date(current version - 100318-1)
Program - already up to date(current version 5.0.377)
Total time - 10 s
Download time - 1 s
Downloaded file - 0 (0.00kB)
Server - unknown(unknown)




I don't know why server is shown as unknown

I have windows XP with SP3

Kindly please help me out.

Also i have one virus and i don't know how i gets triggered. While shutting down my PC i can see one process named 'No title" which windows xp try to end.

Any one aware of this virus as Avast is not capable of catching this virus.


Thanks in Advance