Author Topic: avast5 Internet Security and Windows XP Firewall  (Read 12133 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline catweezel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
avast5 Internet Security and Windows XP Firewall
« on: February 20, 2010, 05:23:09 PM »
Hello,
Sorry, I have already used the search but not found the right answer for this issue

I'm confused. After installing Avast Internet Security, the Windows firewall is not turned off.
I know this from all other firewalls that after installation the WinFW is automatically switched off.

How the firewall works by Avast Internet Security ?  Together with Windows Firewall or must I manually disable the Win FW ?

My operating System is XP SP3

Offline hpguru

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
    • Hpguru.net
Re: avast5 Internet Security and Windows XP Firewall
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2010, 05:35:36 PM »
Avast IS works good with Windows firewall. Alwil recommend use Avast IS with Windows firewall.

Welcome to avast! forum!
AMD Phenom 8550 X3, 8GB DDR2, 1000GB & 640GB HDD, ATI Radeon HD 4650 (1GB), Acer X223W CRT, Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Avast 5 Free, Windows Defender, Firefox & WOT.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67249
Re: avast5 Internet Security and Windows XP Firewall
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2010, 06:10:21 PM »
Microsoft recommends to let Windows Firewall on while using a 3rd party firewall.
It's not like an antivirus: firewalls could live side by side with Windows one.
The best things in life are free.

Offline gjwizard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: avast5 Internet Security and Windows XP Firewall
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2010, 06:16:33 PM »
I have just purchased Avast! 5.0 Internet Security and installed it.  The firewall is "off" and the buttons to turn on and Fix Now do not work!  How do I get the Firewall to work? :-[

Offline hpguru

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
    • Hpguru.net
Re: avast5 Internet Security and Windows XP Firewall
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2010, 06:23:47 PM »
Do you try reboot?

Welcome to forum!
AMD Phenom 8550 X3, 8GB DDR2, 1000GB & 640GB HDD, ATI Radeon HD 4650 (1GB), Acer X223W CRT, Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Avast 5 Free, Windows Defender, Firefox & WOT.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67249
Re: avast5 Internet Security and Windows XP Firewall
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2010, 06:27:10 PM »
I have just purchased Avast! 5.0 Internet Security and installed it.  The firewall is "off" and the buttons to turn on and Fix Now do not work!  How do I get the Firewall to work? :-[
Any other firewall before installing AIS or only Windows firewall?
The best things in life are free.

Offline gjwizard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: avast5 Internet Security and Windows XP Firewall
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2010, 06:40:46 PM »
Yes, I did a reboot.  I even went so far as to uninstall the program and re-download from Avast! website and reinstalled.  Same problem.  Whenever I open Avast! and check the Firewall settings it is the same.  The turn on button doesn't do anything and the Fix Now button doesn't do anything.  I've been emailing a tech from Avast! for the last couple of days but its going slow.  Was hoping someone here would know what to do. 

Offline gjwizard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: avast5 Internet Security and Windows XP Firewall
« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2010, 06:42:31 PM »
No other firewall except Windows.  I even turned it off and hoped it would help, but no.

Offline catweezel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: avast5 Internet Security and Windows XP Firewall
« Reply #8 on: February 20, 2010, 06:47:11 PM »
Avast IS works good with Windows firewall. Alwil recommend use Avast IS with Windows firewall.

Welcome to avast! forum!
thanks  :D
I will try and enable the Win FW
Microsoft recommends to let Windows Firewall on while using a 3rd party firewall.
It's not like an antivirus: firewalls could live side by side with Windows one.
well, so far I have assumed that this is impossible. Is the first time that I hear them
All other firewalls going to automatically disable Windows Firewall

« Last Edit: February 21, 2010, 09:50:57 AM by catweezel »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67249
Re: avast5 Internet Security and Windows XP Firewall
« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2010, 06:51:45 PM »
well, so far I have assumed that this is impossible. Is the first time that I hear them
Vlk (avast CPO) was in Redmond and said this here in forum (and maybe at avast blog...).
The best things in life are free.

Offline catweezel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: avast5 Internet Security and Windows XP Firewall
« Reply #10 on: February 20, 2010, 08:14:23 PM »
I even went so far as to uninstall the program and re-download from Avast! website and reinstalled.  
Same problem.  Whenever I open Avast! and check the Firewall settings it is the same.  The turn on button doesn't do anything and the Fix Now button doesn't do anything.
try this...not always, but sometimes it helps
uninstall with the Avast-Uninstalltool
http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility
After restart use ccleaner to clean the Windows-Registry
http://www.ccleaner.com/
Then reinstall Avast again


« Last Edit: February 20, 2010, 08:15:58 PM by catweezel »

Offline Hally

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
Re: avast5 Internet Security and Windows XP Firewall
« Reply #11 on: February 20, 2010, 08:49:27 PM »
Hi  :)


I've Been Biting My Toung  :-X

But I've Just Got To Say...

After years of people being constantly told... Only ONE Software Firewall!
It is going to cause some terrible confusion for some people - Being told the Opposite  ???
Even Vista's Security Center Tells You Something Like... " It is NOT a good idea to use more than one Firewall .. So! - Don't! "  >:(
Yep! - I do know what Vik said - http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=55436.msg468701#msg468701
But considering people have always been told and believed the opposite...
Just think some kind of ( I Don't Know! ) - Clarification On The Subject
Perhaps Vik could do a Sticky or something  :-\

I'm Using Avast 5 Free  8)
But If I Was Using The Suite... Know I'd Be Really Confused!  :-[


« Last Edit: February 20, 2010, 08:54:12 PM by Hally »
Laptop * Vista HP ( 32bit ) SP2 * Avast 7 Free - Windows Defender - PC Tools Firewall Plus - MBAM - Sandboxie
Desktop * Windows 7 HP ( 64bit ) SP1 *Avast 7 Free - Windows Defender ( On Demand ) - Windows Firewall - MBAM
Dropbox = Free.. Back Up - & - Sync!: https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTU3NjMzMzA5

Offline hpguru

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
    • Hpguru.net
Re: avast5 Internet Security and Windows XP Firewall
« Reply #12 on: February 20, 2010, 08:53:43 PM »
Software firewall.

Windows firewall is built-in.

Or i am wrong?
AMD Phenom 8550 X3, 8GB DDR2, 1000GB & 640GB HDD, ATI Radeon HD 4650 (1GB), Acer X223W CRT, Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Avast 5 Free, Windows Defender, Firefox & WOT.

Offline Hally

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
Re: avast5 Internet Security and Windows XP Firewall
« Reply #13 on: February 20, 2010, 08:59:45 PM »
Hi  :)

Software firewall.

Windows firewall is built-in.

Or i am wrong?

What I Mean Is...

Windows Firewall, Avast Firewall, Comodo Firewall, etc. = Software Firewall

Router Firewall = Hardware Firewall

Basically!
On some forums ( Not This One ) - You say to someone that they can only have one Firewall...
And within 5 minutes!  ::)
Some smartie pants will say... " Yes you can have another Firewall - You can have a Hardware Firewall too "  :P

So Now! ... I always say - Software Firewall  ;)

Hally
Laptop * Vista HP ( 32bit ) SP2 * Avast 7 Free - Windows Defender - PC Tools Firewall Plus - MBAM - Sandboxie
Desktop * Windows 7 HP ( 64bit ) SP1 *Avast 7 Free - Windows Defender ( On Demand ) - Windows Firewall - MBAM
Dropbox = Free.. Back Up - & - Sync!: https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTU3NjMzMzA5

Offline catweezel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: avast5 Internet Security and Windows XP Firewall
« Reply #14 on: February 20, 2010, 09:35:05 PM »
I've Been Biting My Toung  :-X
please do not....  ;)

But If I Was Using The Suite... Know I'd Be Really Confused!  :-[
I can understand - is just me...
After installed Avast IS I don't disable WinFW. (because I don't now this and the computer is working perfect)
After one day I see that WinFW is working and I disable it manually. After this the Securitycenter of Windows brings no message. So I think the securitycenter know the Avast Firewall.

I think I will try it with WinFW  -  otherwise... why we need two Firewalls ?
In the router is a Firewall already too
"Then there where three..."   ;D
« Last Edit: February 20, 2010, 09:36:55 PM by catweezel »