Author Topic: avast needs to restart everytime  (Read 18045 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Alien

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
avast needs to restart everytime
« on: June 29, 2004, 09:00:16 AM »
Yes, the problem is that i get the blue box with the msg avast something something then a version number, i forgot which
After that i get a window with the news of avast? I guess this is new, but when i close that, another window appears which says the computer needs to restart. So i did that, but after the restart the same window (for restart) appears???

What's wrong?
i have the newest update 4.1.418 and VPS 0426-1

Thx 4 reading, i'm of the school.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11713
    • AVAST Software
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2004, 10:14:08 AM »
What operating system do you have?

Offline Alien

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2004, 10:18:16 PM »
win 98

Offline LordDragonDan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Brain damage survivor since 1999.
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2004, 06:16:25 AM »
I have the exact same problem with win 98.
The easiest way to fix a windows problem is to load Linux

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11713
    • AVAST Software
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2004, 09:36:28 AM »
When the restart message appears again (and before you restart), check the file wininit.ini in your Windows directory. What's inside?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2004, 09:38:54 AM »
Also, you can post the contents of the file <avast>\setup\setup.log (or attach it to your post - but you'd first rename it to give it the .txt extension otherwise the forum will refuse your post).
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Alien

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2004, 11:13:57 AM »
This is the wininit
Quote
[rename]
nul=C:\PROGRA~1\ALWILS~1\AVAST4\SETUP\REBOOT.TXT
c:\progra~1\alwils~1\avast4\aswnWCNgIz=c:\progra~1\alwils~1\avast4\asw6180.tmp
nul=c:\windows\tempor~1\content.ie5\index.dat
nul=

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2004, 11:23:25 AM »
Ad: this_is_the_setup.txt

Sorry, this is not the setup.log, this is the setup.ini (useless here...) :)
BTW I'm curious because the wininet.ini contents is really interesting.

Thanks
Vlk
« Last Edit: June 30, 2004, 11:24:40 AM by Vlk »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Alien

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #8 on: June 30, 2004, 12:03:11 PM »
since that setup.log is 745kb, i placed it on my site
http://users.pandora.be/ilja_waege
It's called setupLOG.txt

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #9 on: June 30, 2004, 12:19:26 PM »
Please open the wininit.ini file, and change the line that says

c:\progra~1\alwils~1\avast4\aswnWCNgIz=c:\progra~1\alwils~1\avast4\asw6180.tmp

to

c:\progra~1\alwils~1\avast4\aswres.dll=c:\progra~1\alwils~1\avast4\asw6180.tmp


Then restart the machine. That should do the trick.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Alien

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #10 on: July 01, 2004, 12:28:23 PM »
i'm sorry to tell you, but it doesn't do the trick  :-\
This time the line says
Quote
c:\progra~1\alwils~1\avast4\aswvtJkLeK=c:\progra~1\alwils~1\avast4\asw3203.tmp
Before i had to changee the line it said already something else. So i guess the line is everytime different.

I don't know if this helps, but i have a winint.ini, a .bak, a .tmp, a .sav and a .exe (all with wininit in front offcourse)

Offline Alien

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #11 on: July 03, 2004, 12:55:23 AM »
anyone?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67270
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #12 on: July 03, 2004, 01:08:00 AM »
anyone?

Alien, if even Vlk could not help you, who of us can?
I'm reading your thread since the beggining but I do not know what can you do...
The best things in life are free.

Offline Datagg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Perceive things that you cant see
    • Girlfriends Lingerie
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #13 on: July 03, 2004, 02:08:31 AM »
Not sure on what to do either.  But you could as a last resort, to uninstal and reinstal again. Also, make sure your completely AV free from other sources.   Sorry I cant be of more Help. Im sure Vik is lookign into it for you, be patient if you can.
X64
GA-K8N-SLI
AMD 64 3500+
Nvidia Nforce4
e-Geforce 6800GT - PCI-E 256M
Gig of PC3200 DDR2

Offline LordDragonDan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Brain damage survivor since 1999.
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #14 on: July 03, 2004, 03:31:02 AM »
Hi, just go back to this. Here is my wininit.ini file. Any ideas?

Thanks
The easiest way to fix a windows problem is to load Linux