Author Topic: avast needs to restart everytime  (Read 19707 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Alien

  • Guest
avast needs to restart everytime
« on: June 29, 2004, 09:00:16 AM »
Yes, the problem is that i get the blue box with the msg avast something something then a version number, i forgot which
After that i get a window with the news of avast? I guess this is new, but when i close that, another window appears which says the computer needs to restart. So i did that, but after the restart the same window (for restart) appears???

What's wrong?
i have the newest update 4.1.418 and VPS 0426-1

Thx 4 reading, i'm of the school.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11815
    • AVAST Software
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2004, 10:14:08 AM »
What operating system do you have?

Alien

  • Guest
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2004, 10:18:16 PM »
win 98

LordDragonDan

  • Guest
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2004, 06:16:25 AM »
I have the exact same problem with win 98.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11815
    • AVAST Software
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2004, 09:36:28 AM »
When the restart message appears again (and before you restart), check the file wininit.ini in your Windows directory. What's inside?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2004, 09:38:54 AM »
Also, you can post the contents of the file <avast>\setup\setup.log (or attach it to your post - but you'd first rename it to give it the .txt extension otherwise the forum will refuse your post).
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Alien

  • Guest
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2004, 11:13:57 AM »
This is the wininit
Quote
[rename]
nul=C:\PROGRA~1\ALWILS~1\AVAST4\SETUP\REBOOT.TXT
c:\progra~1\alwils~1\avast4\aswnWCNgIz=c:\progra~1\alwils~1\avast4\asw6180.tmp
nul=c:\windows\tempor~1\content.ie5\index.dat
nul=

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2004, 11:23:25 AM »
Ad: this_is_the_setup.txt

Sorry, this is not the setup.log, this is the setup.ini (useless here...) :)
BTW I'm curious because the wininet.ini contents is really interesting.

Thanks
Vlk
« Last Edit: June 30, 2004, 11:24:40 AM by Vlk »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Alien

  • Guest
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #8 on: June 30, 2004, 12:03:11 PM »
since that setup.log is 745kb, i placed it on my site
http://users.pandora.be/ilja_waege
It's called setupLOG.txt

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #9 on: June 30, 2004, 12:19:26 PM »
Please open the wininit.ini file, and change the line that says

c:\progra~1\alwils~1\avast4\aswnWCNgIz=c:\progra~1\alwils~1\avast4\asw6180.tmp

to

c:\progra~1\alwils~1\avast4\aswres.dll=c:\progra~1\alwils~1\avast4\asw6180.tmp


Then restart the machine. That should do the trick.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Alien

  • Guest
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #10 on: July 01, 2004, 12:28:23 PM »
i'm sorry to tell you, but it doesn't do the trick  :-\
This time the line says
Quote
c:\progra~1\alwils~1\avast4\aswvtJkLeK=c:\progra~1\alwils~1\avast4\asw3203.tmp
Before i had to changee the line it said already something else. So i guess the line is everytime different.

I don't know if this helps, but i have a winint.ini, a .bak, a .tmp, a .sav and a .exe (all with wininit in front offcourse)

Alien

  • Guest
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #11 on: July 03, 2004, 12:55:23 AM »
anyone?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #12 on: July 03, 2004, 01:08:00 AM »
anyone?

Alien, if even Vlk could not help you, who of us can?
I'm reading your thread since the beggining but I do not know what can you do...
The best things in life are free.

Datagg

  • Guest
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #13 on: July 03, 2004, 02:08:31 AM »
Not sure on what to do either.  But you could as a last resort, to uninstal and reinstal again. Also, make sure your completely AV free from other sources.   Sorry I cant be of more Help. Im sure Vik is lookign into it for you, be patient if you can.

LordDragonDan

  • Guest
Re:avast needs to restart everytime
« Reply #14 on: July 03, 2004, 03:31:02 AM »
Hi, just go back to this. Here is my wininit.ini file. Any ideas?

Thanks