Author Topic: Avast 5 v.5.0.418  (Read 3739 times)

Repairman77

Avast 5 v.5.0.418
« on: February 22, 2010, 06:30:09 PM »
Hi, I'm new on here but post on some other techi forums.

Apologies if this has been asked before.  :)

I have been using Avast on my home computer for several years now and find it very good.

I updated to version 5 on 3rd February and all went fine; it uninstalled v.4 OK and installed with no problems.

Over the last 3 days I have noticed that it has not done any auto-updates; working fine before.
I checked manual updates and downloaded the latest which went from 100.222 to 100.222-1.

Is there a problem with the auto-updates; perhaps a server overload due to the new release and it's popularity, or is it a bug?

I had a message from another user that it took several tries and 15 minutes to achieve a manual update as well.

Thanks for any advice which I shall pass on to my fellow forum members.

I have been recommending Avast for some time now as a very effective AV and all who have taken this advice have been pleased with it. Especially the lot faster scan times with v.5.  :)

Mike.

sded

Re: Avast 5 v.5.0.418
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2010, 06:42:40 PM »
What OS are you using?  Have you done any other updates in the past few days?  I am still getting automatic updates regularly, usually when I revive my computer early in the morning and then later in the day if there are additional updates.  I currently have 100222-1 also- says it was released at 5:39am and got it via autoupdate.  Could be an issue in how Alwil distributes their server load, since I am in California and also using the Pro version.  But my free version on another computer has also been getting auto-updates; will check it again later this morning.

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2010, 06:55:51 PM »