Author Topic: Help Needed  (Read 8707 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline capyboppy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I love capybaras
Help Needed
« on: June 29, 2004, 11:46:40 PM »
Can anyone tell me how to stop the box that pops up with "avast! On-Access Scanner Message"?
I use Opera which has tabbed windows, so if I have a lot of tabs, this box while informative, obscures the tabs on the right, so I can't maximise the window.
Thanks
He said, "It is finished," Not, "I am finished."

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:Help Needed
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2004, 12:14:08 AM »
Go to the providers settings.
Tab Advanced.
Un-check 'Show detailed information on action...'  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline capyboppy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I love capybaras
Re:Help Needed
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2004, 08:06:05 PM »
 ;DThanks Techie,

That worked  fine.
He said, "It is finished," Not, "I am finished."

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:Help Needed
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2004, 08:39:12 PM »
Thanks Techie, that worked  fine.

Ok, you can call me Techie but the real Techie would be 'angry'  ;D
The best things in life are free.

Offline capyboppy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I love capybaras
Re:Help Needed
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2004, 11:34:38 PM »
Now who might that be, the delightful vlk maybe? :P
« Last Edit: June 30, 2004, 11:47:57 PM by capyboppy »
He said, "It is finished," Not, "I am finished."

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:Help Needed
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2004, 12:08:06 AM »
Now who might that be, the delightful vlk maybe? :P

Techie  8)
The Moderator of the Off-forum  ;D
The best things in life are free.

Offline capyboppy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I love capybaras
Re:Help Needed
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2004, 06:37:33 PM »
 :-\Aaaargh!

I spoke to soon. Everytime I start the PC the setting goes back to how it was.

Help.
 From the world's greatest capybara fan (apart from the Caimans!)
He said, "It is finished," Not, "I am finished."

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11805
    • AVAST Software
Re:Help Needed
« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2004, 09:29:44 PM »
Hmm, strange... is it the only setting that isn't save correctly, or some other are affected as well?
What OS do you use? Do you have avast! Home or Pro?
(and - do you have the latest build of avast?)

Offline capyboppy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I love capybaras
Re:Help Needed
« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2004, 10:13:12 PM »
Hello igor,

As far as I know it is just the one setting.

I use Windows 98se, 258mb memory, 850 processor. I check for updates everyday and it is the Avast Home Edition (free)

To add further which is a great disappointment: I downloaded 3 files from what I thought were well known freeware Websites. Upon installing AVG popped up several  times to say there was a virus/trojan horse. After uninstalling the programs. (I actually use Total Uninstall) I closed everything down except Avast and ran the thorough scan. Nothing was reported. I must also add that I set Avast to scan downloaded files too. I then  closed Avast down and ran AVG which I haven't updated for a week, and it found 8 trojan horses:-Rameh.E Keenval.B Keenval.J.

Is it the case that Avast doesn't scan for Trojans? If so, sadly I would have to wave goodbye to Avast, as if AVG catches them and Avast doesn't there would be no point keeping Avast. Especially as Avast does use more resources than AVG but I thought at the time the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

Hoping there is a simple explanation.
He said, "It is finished," Not, "I am finished."

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46113
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Help Needed
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2004, 10:39:30 PM »
capyboppy
There is, you should never run 2 AV programs at the same time. Either use AVG or, uninstall it and use Avast!
Any time you use 2 memory resident AV programs at the same time ther will be conflicts.
You have to make a choice. I can give you a suggestion and that's stay with Avast! But, that's a choice I've made and been very happy with. Now it's your turn. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:Help Needed
« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2004, 11:28:46 PM »
Especially as Avast does use more resources than AVG but I thought at the time the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

Well, I'm not sure on that...
About the Trojan, are you sure you run a througout scan with a working, updated avast installation?
The best things in life are free.

Offline capyboppy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I love capybaras
Re:Help Needed
« Reply #11 on: July 03, 2004, 10:08:08 AM »
Bob:- This is not the case. As Avast (freeware version) doesn't check at the  bootup if that is the correct terminology! It is okay to have AVG just for this part. As long as it is closed down on startup and sys tray etc it is okay. I have had this verified, and in fact suggested on another thread of mine.

Techie: Yes, absolutely. As I said, I check every day for updates on signature files, and once a week for program updates. It was definitely the thorough scan too, as up to now this is the one I have always ran for maximum dectection.

Of course I want to keep Avast if possible. When I tried the AVG plug in for scanning non-Outlook Express e-mails, it did not work properly.Took an age to   scan each piece of mail, and then didn't always complete. Where after setting up Avast to scan e-mail (non Outlook Express) It works fine.
He said, "It is finished," Not, "I am finished."

Offline Bigbro

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Hello good friends!
Re:Help Needed
« Reply #12 on: July 05, 2004, 01:57:01 AM »
Go to the providers settings.
Tab Advanced.
Un-check 'Show detailed information on action...'  ;)

I have been complaining about this feature all day. it's driving me buggy. I've tried to find these settings that everyone posts and the way this 747 cockpit is layed out I can't find anything. I'm sure that maybe hundreds of people like myself have become so dicouraged with this, that they have as I am contemplating, uninstalled Avast!.

If I can't right click on the tray icon and see these things listed there I have to open the program and when I do I see this cockpit of total confusion, with it's little slide outs and popups, and I just do not like looking through a maze to find something. I hate, loathe and dispise looking for anything that should be in plain sight.

If anyone had to look for their steering wheel, throttle, or brakes every time they got in their car, I know, they would get very discouraged, as I am, at even wanting to use it.

People like me need a choice and right click context menus are the perfect place to list all the controls of the entire application, at least until we learn the terminology, which is different with every program, and then we can display the application and its skins to enjoy.

What really bothers me is, until I learn this cockpit, I may be compromising my systems security, not having this checked and not having that unchecked.

If all this isn't true then you would not constantly be answering questions like mine. Where in the world is it, please?
Gateway 1200 Select, 1.20GHZ, 0.98GB RAM, 60GB HD + 30GB HD, Windows XP Home-SP3, avast V5.1.889 Free. Comodo Firewall

Dell Dimension 8400, 4CPU 3.20GHZ, 3.1 3.25GB RAM, 80GB HD, Windows XP Pro Media Edition -SP3, avast V5.1.889 Free. Comodo Firewall

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Help Needed
« Reply #13 on: July 05, 2004, 02:48:27 AM »
I have been complaining about this feature all day. it's driving me buggy. I've tried to find these settings that everyone posts and the way this 747 cockpit is layed out I can't find anything. I'm sure that maybe hundreds of people like myself have become so dicouraged with this, that they have as I am contemplating, uninstalled Avast!.

Well, actually it's not true... nothing in life is simple. If you want to use complex software with million functions, there is no other way... actually, everything is pretty much placed so logicaly... 747 cockpit ? You can always switch to another skin. Have you tried one of those plain skins made by me ? "Flat'n'Simple", "Corporate", "Lite-On" or maybe my latest release "RejZor-Sharp" ? Try one of those and you'll see that things can be different...

Quote
If I can't right click on the tray icon and see these things listed there I have to open the program and when I do I see this cockpit of total confusion, with it's little slide outs and popups, and I just do not like looking through a maze to find something. I hate, loathe and dispise looking for anything that should be in plain sight.

So many things should be placed on main screen, but again... there is no enough room to show them all. Unles you are asking Alwil Software to make avast! antivirus in resolution 1024x768 pixels... we shouldn't forget people who still use lower resolutions 640x480 or 800x600...

Quote
If anyone had to look for their steering wheel, throttle, or brakes every time they got in their car, I know, they would get very discouraged, as I am, at even wanting to use it.

Well, I think it took me approximately 15 minutes to learn where are all those options located. After that, it's like routine...

Quote
People like me need a choice and right click context menus are the perfect place to list all the controls of the entire application, at least until we learn the terminology, which is different with every program, and then we can display the application and its skins to enjoy.

Good point... that's why we have WHISH LIST in these forums. So, if you have more good suggestions like this one, you can post them in thread I just mentioned... Alwil guys listen all those wishes as usual. If they find it useful, they will fix the problem and in very next program update, you'll see your avast! as you requested...

Quote
What really bothers me is, until I learn this cockpit, I may be compromising my systems security, not having this checked and not having that unchecked.

If all this isn't true then you would not constantly be answering questions like mine. Where in the world is it, please?

Don't be paranoid. If you properly installed avast! you don't have to worry. All other settings are for fine tunning, and you'll not compromise your security just because you didn't uncheck "Show detailed information on performed action..." It's just cosmetic issue, and btw, it's disabled by default when you first install avast!

Alwil guys gives this program (avast! Home Edition) for free, they gives us free technical support here in forums, by the e-mail and by the phone... can you name another software house that will do that for users who uses just freeware version of their product ? I don't think so...

So be patient, please, everything will be OK.

Cheers !
« Last Edit: July 05, 2004, 02:50:05 AM by S.Z.Craftec »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46113
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Help Needed
« Reply #14 on: July 05, 2004, 01:56:11 PM »
Thank you Sasha
It's amazing how you can get a prize posession like Avast! free of charge and the start to complain about it without even making an attempt to learn it's functions.
Most of the security functions are already preset and any adjustments are only for your individual preferences any way.
I'm no great genius and had no problems setting Avast up for my system and I have some individual non standard settings requirements.
fhurst
Enjoy this new gift you've received and treasure it.
Your minor cosmetice inconvienience can easily be resolved.
The reason for all of the other settings are there so that those of us with individual needs can set Avast! up to work on our systems.
Most people don't need to make any settings adjustments.
Enjoy! :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq