Author Topic: Avast 5 auto update faill  (Read 8893 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline LAMAS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Avast 5 auto update faill
« on: February 18, 2010, 05:29:03 PM »
Hello.

My Avast 5.0.418 not automatically update.

Error MSG : Don't connect to server: download838.avast.com (174.120.186.26:80)


Only manually update (CMD: ashupd.exe vps/program) finish to successful.

System parameters.
Win Xp sp3 all update
firewall: Ashampo firewall
Ram: 1,2 GB
CPU: Athlon 2000XP+
Hdd1: 250 GB
Hdd2: 80 GB


Avast 4 don't this problem


Thank for help.

Sorry in My English.


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Avast 5 auto update faill
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2010, 05:38:03 PM »
Isn't it a temporary glitch?
If manual update is working, the automatic should work also... ::)
The best things in life are free.

Offline LAMAS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Avast 5 auto update faill
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2010, 05:55:01 PM »
EN Translate.
I do not know I had the same problem with the beta version: (
Lasted several days has led to attempts to uninstall the beta.

The downside is the refresh manually update virus databases only after you restart your computer.

PL original version:
Nie wiem ten sam problem miałem z wersją beta :(
Trwał kilka dni co było powodem odinstalowania bety.

Wadą ręcznej aktualizacji jest odświeżenie baz wirusów dopiero po ponownym uruchomieniu komputera.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Avast 5 auto update faill
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2010, 05:59:58 PM »
I suggest an installation from the scratch:

1. Download the latest version of avast! Uninstall Utility and save it.
2. Download the latest avast! version and save it.
3. Uninstall avast from Control Panel (if possible). If, for any reason, you can't run it, try booting in Safe Mode and doing it from there. Anyway, boot after that.
4. Run the avast! Uninstall Utility saved on 1. If, for any reason, you can't run it, try booting in Safe Mode and doing it from there. Anyway, boot after you've run it.
5. Install avast! using the setup saved on 2. Boot.
6. Register your free copy or add the license key for Pro.
7. Check and post the results.

By the way, the latest version is not a beta, but 5.0.418.
The best things in life are free.

Offline cabatistela

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Avast 5 auto update faill
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2010, 01:31:59 AM »
I have exactly the same problem. I've tried updating manually but it didnt work too.
I did the procedures above but didnt solve problem.
Problems with XP SP3 ? I didnt this problem with 4.8.
Tks

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Avast 5 auto update faill
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2010, 08:32:06 PM »
I have exactly the same problem. I've tried updating manually but it didnt work too.
1. Firewall blocking.
2. Infection.
3. Proxy issues (set avast to use no proxies at all: Settings > Updates > Proxy).
The best things in life are free.

Offline raziel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Avast 5 auto update fail
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2010, 12:52:02 AM »
Hi! I have the same problem with auto-update in Avast! 5.0.418. I have followed your instructions from point 3. and have even uninstalled my firewall Ashampoo to prevent eventual blocking of Avast! 5.0.418. And it didn't help either. Curiously enough, manual update works, but I have to reboot my computer to refresh the virus databases in Avast! GUI. I use Avast! 5.0.418 free version with registration key I have from earlier free version 4.8. Will I have to register Avast! 5.0.418 again to get the new registration key to solve this problem? Please, help!
PS My OS is Windows XP Professional SP2.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Avast 5 auto update faill
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2010, 01:07:13 AM »
I don't think so... but you can register it again.
Did you set "no proxy" into the update settings?
The best things in life are free.

Offline raziel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Avast 5 auto update faill
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2010, 02:30:59 AM »
Hi! It's me again! Yes, I did set "no proxy" into update settings, long ago. Unexpectedly my problem with auto update has solved. Even though I'm still getting error message: "Unable to connect to server" when I try to manually force update of virus definitions from main Avast! GUI, but I already have current virus definitions: 100220-0 in update window. Strange, isn't it? I'll be checking if it updates again. If so, but I'll still be getting error messages when trying to update, this will mean that Avast! 5.0.418 propably still have some glitch, which was not present in Avast! 4.8. In Avast! 4.8, when I was trying to manually update virus definitions, it was always prompting message like this: "Your virus definitions are up to date". It was never getting me such errors. Or it is something wrong for instance with my sytem configuration(everything is possible, don't you think?). Regards.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2010, 07:13:14 AM by raziel »

Offline raziel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Avast 5 auto update faill
« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2010, 04:02:09 PM »
Hi, again! Unfortunately, I still cannot update virus definitions of Avast! 5.0.418 Free. This version 100220-0 I have mentioned in my last post was downloaded propably by myself, when I yesterday went to "Add or Remove Programs" in Control Panel and try to manually download latest virus definitions. Here are some logs from setup.txt, which might help you to rectify my update issue.

15:23:39 nrm/gen  SelectCurrent: selected server 'Download603 AVAST5 Server' from 'main'
15:23:39 nrm/int  SYNCER: Type: no proxy
15:23:39 nrm/int  SYNCER: Auth: no authentication
15:23:39 dbg/int  while trying to get file 'servers.def', error 0x20000004 has occured, try 9
15:23:41 nrm/int  HttpGetWinsock(http://download603.avast.com/iavs5x/servers.def)
15:23:42 nrm/int  ERROR:HttpGetWinsock, WinsockTcpConnect() returned 0x0000277B
15:23:42 nrm/gen  InvalidateCurrent: invalidated server 'Download603 AVAST5 Server' from 'main'
15:23:42 nrm/gen  SelectCurrent: selected server 'Download825 AVAST5 Server' from 'main'
15:23:42 nrm/int  SYNCER: Type: no proxy
15:23:42 nrm/int  SYNCER: Auth: no authentication
15:23:42 dbg/int  while trying to get file 'servers.def', error 0x20000004 has occured, try 10
15:23:44 min/int  tried 10 servers to get file 'servers.def', but failed (0x20000004)
15:23:44 min/fil  servers.def not changed, 1266421648/0
15:23:44 min/pkg  Tried to download servers.def but failed with error 0x20000004.
15:23:44 min/pkg  LoadAllDefs failed 0x20000004
15:23:44 min/gen  Err:Cannot connect to download603.avast.com (74.55.71.86:80).
15:23:44 nrm/pkg  Transferred: files 20, bytes 0, time 1992 ms
15:23:44 nrm/pkg  Retries: total 20, files 2, servers 21
15:23:44 vrb/int  Sending stats 'http://download825.avast.com/cgi-bin/iavs4stats.cgi': 20000004 0
15:23:44 vrb/fil  NeedReboot=false
15:23:44 min/gen  Return code: 0x20000004 [Cannot connect to download825.avast.com (174.120.185.18:80).]
15:23:44 min/gen  Stopped: 21.02.2010, 15:23:44

PS I have to remark, that my additional firewall Ashampoo 1.20, as well as Windows Defender are set to allow all Avast! 5.0.418 components to connect. Thanks in advance for your help.


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Avast 5 auto update faill
« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2010, 04:10:08 PM »
Is your hosts file clean?
Can you check? C:\Windows\system32\drivers\etc\
The best things in life are free.

Offline raziel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Avast 5 auto update faill
« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2010, 08:00:57 PM »
No, my hosts file is not clean. It contains five different files. Here they are:


Offline Migraine Boy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast 5 auto update faill
« Reply #12 on: February 23, 2010, 01:11:01 AM »
Hello.

My Avast 5.0.418 not automatically update.



Avast 4 don't this problem




Same problem here, but no error message at all. Avast 5 just remains silent and only a manual update upgrades my virusdefs. Even though everything is setup properly, even did a clean install of v 5.0.148

My system:

Windows xp professional Dutch sp3
avast! 5.0.148
IObit Security 360 and Advanced SystemCare Pro latest upgrades
Firewall: pc Tools Firewall Plus 6.0.0.88
WinPatrol Plus v 17.0.2010 NL (dutch)

Avast! Home Edition 4.8 never had this problem with this very same config.

So question: anybody who knows the cause?

1 remark: everytime I open the new interface, that nagging screen about buying Internet Security for way too high price (compared with competitors who score even better during objective lab tests) is a pain in the ***. What is that good for? To annoy open-source- and freeware lovers and stop them from using Avast! ?!? Please do not try the same mistake as Avira Antivir Personal does, it causes a very bad reputation. Just keep people free in what they're choosing but do never nag them against their will  >:(

M.

Offline raziel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Avast 5 auto update faill
« Reply #13 on: February 23, 2010, 05:23:14 AM »
I'd like to mention about some more two strange Avast! 5.0.418 behaviours. First is a loss of my whole internet connection after reboot past an initial installation. Only way to restore my internet connection is to reboot once again, but even though after my Web connection is regained, I can only update  virus definitions going to "Add or remove programs" option in Control Panel, but the current version of virus definitions is refreshed on Avast! 5.0.418 "Maintenance" screen in "Update" subsection not till then, when I reboot my computer once more.

Offline ahsanbhai420

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast 5 auto update faill
« Reply #14 on: March 08, 2010, 09:48:17 AM »
THERE IS A VERY EASY WAY I M GOING TO TELL YOU.
IF YOU HAVE AVAST 5.0.377 INSTALLED AND ITS NOT GOING TO UPDATE THEN JUST SIMPLY INSTAL AVAST 5.0.418 OR HIGHER WITHOUT UNINSTALLING THE PREVIOUS VERSION.
THEN RESTART SYSTEM
AND THEN YOU WILL BE ABLE TO UPDATE IT MANUALLY OR AU ::)TOMATICALLY