Author Topic: Want download Avast software but having trouble - another method???  (Read 11423 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2604
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Want download Avast software but having trouble - another method???
« Reply #15 on: March 20, 2010, 11:40:31 AM »
Firefox lets you add NoScript which partly substitutes the script blocker that is not included in the Avast!5 free.

 8)

YoKenny: I don't criticize IE8, I just prefer Firefox.
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: Want download Avast software but having trouble - another method???
« Reply #16 on: March 20, 2010, 11:58:01 AM »

 ;D ;D ;D

Offline mkis

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1618
Re: Want download Avast software but having trouble - another method???
« Reply #17 on: March 20, 2010, 02:42:57 PM »
Well it looks like the OP has moved so that leaves the thread open and it seems IE is the topic

and btw hosts file protection pretty much (but not totally) rules out porn
- the sites are blacklisted, and cos mostly syndicated, it makes easier to block FOAF (friend of a friend)

but I want to ask about IE
- I didn't realise IE was integrated so deep into Vista until the other day when I tried to fix a damaged IE8
- in Vista there is no IE8 in Add/Remove programs - and no connection wizard (correct me if I'm wrong)

The damage - no favicon / logo would manifest in the IE browser - but everything fine in Chrome
- tidied laptop up and IE ran very well, passed Secunia, cleaned, defrag, but problem persisted
- problem seemed permanent - laptop running well
- all I could find wrong was damaged active X object program
        - in Internet Options > General > Settings > View object

Computers wiith an active X object file damaged are common enough
- but the fault does not often affect IE in the way this one did - that is, no favicons and logos.

It was here when I discovered how deeply IE was integrated into Vista.  Any comments?

I may start a thread soon to deal with only IE issues, that is low level issues and desktop
- not browse performance, unless default or optimal custom expectations are not met
- as with the case of the missing favicons / logos

My reasoning is that if IE is messy - integrated into the desktop as it is - then yr avast may likely not perform to expectations - although not always the case, I have a computer than runs with the yellow exclamation mark (I cannot fix), and retuns often enough 'done, with errors on page...) and yet avast pertforms up to expectation, and IE still runs well enough.

However, there is an inherent difficulty here, I don't have problems with avast, which puts me in same situation with my clients here in New Zealand, but not with those, wherever they may be located, who visit the webforum for sorting out problems with their avast.

let me make a shot in the dark - 5o% to 75% of problems that manifest in avast occur in conjunction with messy Intenet Explorer, low level issues and desktop - and including net hardware connection.

besides, Eddy said as much when he came on for a short spell a few days ago.
Well Eddy didn't say quite what I inferred, and he does specify the latest IE version

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=56694.msg482356#msg482356

Quote
VLk, I think people also should mention what connection they have (dl speed/ul speed) and what browser they are using.
I'm getting lots of complains about slow internet/systems when people are using the latest IE version.
Perhaps that has something to do with it.

« Last Edit: March 20, 2010, 09:10:45 PM by mkis »
Avast7 Free, MBAM (on demand), MVPS Hosts

Intel DG41TY, Windows 7 Ultimate, IE9, Google Chrome, 4 GB ram, Secunia PSI, ccleaner, Foxit Reader, Faststone Image viewer, MWSnap.

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: Want download Avast software but having trouble - another method???
« Reply #18 on: March 20, 2010, 03:00:46 PM »
I also use Vista and I have found this silly problem

My DSL light on my wireless modem keeps on blinking some times and Internet connection gets disconnected but when I reset IE 8 this problem is gone...

I reset my IE 8 at least once a week because I am having some connectivity issues.... >:(

Seems funny sometimes  :P

YoKenny

  • Guest
Re: Want download Avast software but having trouble - another method???
« Reply #19 on: March 20, 2010, 05:25:47 PM »
@  mkis

About IE
Please read about Windows Explorer:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Explorer

Try entering C: in IE's address area and the File manager will open showing the contents of the C: drive.

Windows 7 users have the option of removing IE8 but I have no idea what would happen if I tried it on my system as I do not want to break it again and have to take it back to the store where I bought the system to have them fix it again when I tried some tweaking that I read about.  :-[

@ Chris Thomas

If the DSL light flickers then you are loosing connection because the modem is not close enough to the signal source or the connection is poor.

My ISP is offering a free upgrade to 10MB/sec using a fiber connection but I doubt they could get it here as it would be a bit of a challenge getting the fiber cable to my apartment.  :'(

Offline mkis

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1618
Re: Want download Avast software but having trouble - another method???
« Reply #20 on: March 20, 2010, 06:46:44 PM »
okay YoKenny I haven't used File Manager for years.

I'll spend a bit of time on this but unfortunately no Vista in the house at the moment (its Sunday). Never mind. Good directiion, I will see what I can make do with this option. Thank you.
Avast7 Free, MBAM (on demand), MVPS Hosts

Intel DG41TY, Windows 7 Ultimate, IE9, Google Chrome, 4 GB ram, Secunia PSI, ccleaner, Foxit Reader, Faststone Image viewer, MWSnap.

YoKenny

  • Guest
Re: Want download Avast software but having trouble - another method???
« Reply #21 on: March 20, 2010, 07:24:43 PM »
You have not looked what is on your hard drive in years  ???

Offline mkis

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1618
Re: Want download Avast software but having trouble - another method???
« Reply #22 on: March 20, 2010, 09:41:58 PM »
No it is not that at all - of course I am aware of what is on any of my computers at any time.

I made an error - I put yr C: in the Firefox browser by mistake and I got the interface below (first screenshot), which I took to be an MS File Manager I knew from a few years ago. But no, this is the Firefox or Google File Manager, and that is where I had seen it before. I haven't had time to use it. Firefox, I think.

Put C: in IE address area and you get same old Local Disk(C:)  - I don't get it! what did that achieve.

With Comptia we learned to use Computer management (second screenshot) - Services is easily accessible.  
« Last Edit: March 20, 2010, 10:10:29 PM by mkis »
Avast7 Free, MBAM (on demand), MVPS Hosts

Intel DG41TY, Windows 7 Ultimate, IE9, Google Chrome, 4 GB ram, Secunia PSI, ccleaner, Foxit Reader, Faststone Image viewer, MWSnap.

YoKenny

  • Guest
Re: Want download Avast software but having trouble - another method???
« Reply #23 on: March 21, 2010, 01:49:59 AM »
I get the C: drive in File Manager and not in IE.

It achieves the fact that Windows Explorer and Internet Explorer use the same GUI.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76213
  • Urlaub/Vacation
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Want download Avast software but having trouble - another method???
« Reply #24 on: March 21, 2010, 02:12:29 AM »
Firefox is no safer than any other browser and they should be up to date.

maybe ur rite - but i like 2 thrust it more than any comercial product, always trying 2 know what ur doing. don't get me wrong, u also have 2 change some defaults in ff, but whats makes the difference, is that you can!! do that. (knowing what 2 do)
ff +bp +ns +abp +cs lite +qp +jd
asyn

W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.7.7366.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 103.0 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline mkis

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1618
Re: Want download Avast software but having trouble - another method???
« Reply #25 on: March 21, 2010, 04:04:14 AM »
I didn't see the post before YoKenny.

Is that windows 7?
Its got the softer web 2.0 look like Vista  I bet its not as hard though.

my c drive is very plain - but I never go there through the browser, only through local system
And on I that computer I use Firefox
- mostly I try to bare down IE and then mosts things run well on XP anway
- I do run a lot of optional Windows updates, but I hardly use any components unless I have too

IE is second option, and with either Bing or Google as home page.
I think IE is too top heavy to run as default in XP except perhaps in network setting.
Avast7 Free, MBAM (on demand), MVPS Hosts

Intel DG41TY, Windows 7 Ultimate, IE9, Google Chrome, 4 GB ram, Secunia PSI, ccleaner, Foxit Reader, Faststone Image viewer, MWSnap.

YoKenny

  • Guest
Re: Want download Avast software but having trouble - another method???
« Reply #26 on: March 21, 2010, 10:36:55 AM »
I do not see how much RAM the system has in the signature.

Your XP system is a lot different from mine and I would never store anything in the root of the C: drive especially Registration Entries and IMG files.

IMG files belong in My Pictures Folder and I put Registration Entries in a Downloads Folder.

I used Icons to display not Thumbnails.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2010, 10:41:43 AM by YoKenny »

Offline mkis

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1618
Re: Want download Avast software but having trouble - another method???
« Reply #27 on: March 21, 2010, 11:14:55 AM »
yes, nice, very XP

my c drive sometimes collects stuff I have on priority, but not pressing enough for desktop
- the images are put there recently

registrations from ccleaner - these only small amounts of trash files in Registry scan for ages
I always try keep about 4 or 5 back and no more - for multi purposes quick restore of reg
never had to use these, I just cant say no when machine asks if I want a backup copy

Download and tmpdownload are temp storage for incoming from YouTubeMp3downloader
- I don't know why two folders - the progam chose these location
- same with winfast tvtuner - GIF animator is there to remind me to start using it sometime
- what about my hosts folder - usual download to and run from here - comments?

I don't know about that .rnd file I had a look once and decided it was okay so left it there
Avast7 Free, MBAM (on demand), MVPS Hosts

Intel DG41TY, Windows 7 Ultimate, IE9, Google Chrome, 4 GB ram, Secunia PSI, ccleaner, Foxit Reader, Faststone Image viewer, MWSnap.