Author Topic: Cannot access any websites  (Read 2119 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline amori

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Cannot access any websites
« on: March 25, 2010, 05:12:34 AM »
I followed the standard setup when installing Avast 5!

I now cannot access internet explorer sites.

I have a message in my Avast Settings - Attention: your system is not fully protected. Please use the Fix Now button to start fully protecting your system.
However when I click on 'Fix Now' nothing happens. Below this my Firewall is turned off. I also cannot choose the option to turn this ON - again nothing happens.
Also down the bottom the same message "Your avast! firewall is currently turned off. To ensure your computer is protected against unauthorised intrusions from the internet, turn the firewall on now.

Please help - I am not technical savvy so please use simple instructions :)

Offline CharleyO

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7085
  • Be alert for error code - ID 10T
Re: Cannot access any websites
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2010, 06:35:04 AM »
***

Welcome to the forums, amori   :)

Please try a repair of avast using the XP example below. Other OS should be similar.

To do a repair of avast :

Control panel > Add/remove programs > click once on avast to select it > click on Change/Remove > scroll down the left pane and click on repair > click OK> follow directions


***
Self-built desktop (8 years old) - AMD64 3200+_Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939_4 gb RAM_GeForceFX 5800w/256 ram_XP/SP3_Avast 7_MBAM_ZA Free __and__ Toshiba Satellite Laptop_W7-64bit_ 4 gb Ram_Avast 8_MBAM

Offline amori

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Cannot access any websites
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2010, 08:49:01 AM »
Thanks for your reponse:) However that didnt work :-[
I have managed to get a reply from the actual Avast tech guy so hopefully he can help, although it seems a mission and a bit of blaming my system!

I have since found this advice on another forum which apparently worked for someone else? What do you think?I have no idea!

As an advanced way, maybe searching for "aswNdis" references into C:\Windows\Inf\oem*.inf files. You can use Windows Search or FileSeek (http://www.binaryfortress.com/fileseek/) for that. Then you can move the files to another folder. Boot. Try installing again.

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2610
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Cannot access any websites
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2010, 08:50:20 AM »
Hy there.

Check this: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=57443.msg484431#msg484431

Your above mentioned "aswNdis"-search may be used in case the firewall won't start.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2010, 08:52:30 AM by Zyndstoff »
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear