Author Topic: email problems, new installation of Avast!5 Pro  (Read 4790 times)

lbyler

email problems, new installation of Avast!5 Pro
« on: March 12, 2010, 11:52:24 PM »
Hello all.

Avast! newbie here.  I got tired of Kaspersky's foibles, so when my license expired I bought Pro (5.?) earlier today (12 March) and installed it.  It seemed to work, except that incoming e-mail failed to arrive.

The most recent topic regarding e-mail is dated 1 March, and has no responses.  Earlier related topics asked why this old chestnut was being rehashed yet again.  I respond:  Perhaps because it's still a problem?

Details:
OS is Win XP SP3
I use the Thunderbird (2.0.0.23) e-mail client.  I do not use web-based e-mail.
Incoming:  pop.att.yahoo.com, port 110, Use TLS if available.
Outgoing:  smtp.att.yahoo.com, port 587, No secure connection

I could send mail, but could not receive it.  The Get Mail did not fail, it just did nothing.  The status bar indicated "Connecting" — forever.

In the following scenarios, I sent a test message to myself after each step.  The message was sent, but never arrived.
I tried everything I could in Mail Shields.
I tried unchecking all checks (Incoming, Outgoing, News).  No change.
I tried Stopping it for ten minutes.  It stopped, but still no mail arrived.
I pushed the Start button again, but Avast showed no sign of detecting that.  And the Start button was still showing.
I looked for a way to shut down Avast (you can do that with Kaspersky), if only to test the theory that it was the cause of the e-mail problem.  There isn't one.  No UI to exit, no application to terminate with Task Manager.  And when I tried to terminate the Avast process in TM, it refused.

So it seems the only way to get rid of it is to uninstall it.  So I did.  As soon as I rebooted, a pent-up flood of e-mail (including all my test messages) arrived.