Author Topic: My Avast Issue  (Read 3640 times)

dragoneyedgirl

My Avast Issue
« on: March 15, 2010, 03:25:26 AM »
So starting today for some odd reason my Avast(version 4.8 home edition - free antivirus) decided that if I connect to the internet it's going to slow my whole computer down to the point where it's useless.  >:( I've been trying to figure out my problem all day long(I'm not THAT technical when it comes to computers) and I just now finally figured out that Avast was the culprit. I'm probably going to remove it(it's disabled right now) but why would it all of a sudden do this to my computer whenever a connection to the internet has been made? I'm interested in knowing an answer because if there is some setting I need to look into and change, I may still keep the product. If not, I'm going to try something else. Thanks in advance for any feedback.

dragoneyedgirl

Re: My Avast Issue
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2010, 03:27:57 AM »
Oh and I'm using Windows Vista in case anyone's wondering...

sded

« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2010, 03:29:40 AM »
Have you installed some other security software lately?  Does avast! just slow browsing or everything?  You might try turning off the shields one at a time to see if something sticks out.  What firewall are you using with avast!?

Offline Yanto.Chiang

• Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • Soli Deo Gloria
    • PT Garuda Sinatriya Globalindo
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2010, 03:34:55 AM »
Hi Dragon,

Welcome to the forum,

If you would like to see which application that causing your issue, you may to download Process Explore from : hxxp://download.cnet.com/Process-Explorer/3000-2094_4-10223605.html

You may see whole internal applications size at your machine.

Cheers,
Yanto Chiang | IT Security Consultants | AVAST Premium Security | GarudaSinatriya

dragoneyedgirl

« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2010, 03:35:47 AM »