Author Topic: Avast5 GUI problem--Update Settings tab--"radio" buttons not visible  (Read 5017 times)

Union_Thug

First time posting, LONG time lurking. Let me say at this point that I am very pleased with this product, I have been using it since last August when my previous AV--AVG 8--FAILED to prevent/detect/heal/ delete or quarantine 2 infections in 3 months, it was Adios AVG, buenos dias Avast4, and now Avast5. I LOVE the new sleek GUI, I never did care much for the old look but have been impressed with your company's product since day one, and continue be to this day.

Now on to the main reason for this post:

The buttons to choose method for engine & database defs, and prog. defs are not visible. I have included a screenshot below, I'm sorry if it's too large, I'm not very good at "resizing/attaching". They are still "there", just not visible--I have to "feel around" with my mouse pointer whenever I choose to change my update settings from Automatic to "Ask when an update...". Not a major problem, it's more of a minor annoyance. Changing back to automatic is easy--just click the "Fix Now" button on the main GUI page.

Do any of you good Avast evangelists know what the problem and/or fix may be?

Avast5 latest version
Dell 2200 Notebook
XP SP3
FF 3.6  & IE8
OA Firewall
(ONLY) 512mb RAM (could this be main part of the prob?)

PS: Contrary to a popular topic from about 2 weeks ago, I DO NOT in any way shape or form think that Avast are "Thieving Ba$t*rd$"  ;D

(Image deleted)
« Last Edit: April 24, 2010, 10:55:34 PM by Union_Thug »

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast5 GUI problem--Update Settings tab--"radio" buttons not visible
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2010, 01:33:16 AM »
Are these radio buttons (or check boxes) missing (not visible) from any other areas of the avast! Settings ?

Have you changed any settings in the Basic, Appearance section, e.g. the Use special graphics effects (....) ?