Author Topic: AVAST ERRORS ALWAYS  (Read 9489 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline david38400

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
AVAST ERRORS ALWAYS
« on: March 18, 2010, 04:52:14 AM »
I am wondering if Avast is any good on Linux Mint 8. I download a week ago and firstly I see that it doesn't run permanently, it only runs when you ask it to do a check. I tried running a thorough scan of the entire system and on all occasion an error comes up so it doesn't do anything. If I run a quick scan its ok. Maybe I am not using it correctly. I have updated the database so this isnt the problem. If this error keeps ocurring and it only works when I ask it to then it seems pretty useless to me.

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: AVAST ERRORS ALWAYS
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2010, 05:02:24 AM »
Avast isn't resident on Linux, has never been, will never be ;)
w7 - ais7

Offline .: L' arc :.

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1780
  • Thinking with Portals
Re: AVAST ERRORS ALWAYS
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2010, 03:15:17 PM »
What was the error message?

BTW, avast! works fine in my Ubuntu Karmic Koala system.
Windows 7 (64-bit) Home Premium SP1
avast! 9 RC1

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: AVAST ERRORS ALWAYS
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2010, 03:28:29 PM »
Will never be ;)
Why not? They could develop that... there are programs that run "as residents" in Linux.
The best things in life are free.

Offline FreewheelinFrank

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4872
  • I'm a GNU
    • Don't Surf in the Nude!
Re: AVAST ERRORS ALWAYS
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2010, 07:23:58 PM »
I am wondering if Avast is any good on Linux Mint 8. I download a week ago and firstly I see that it doesn't run permanently, it only runs when you ask it to do a check. I tried running a thorough scan of the entire system and on all occasion an error comes up so it doesn't do anything. If I run a quick scan its ok. Maybe I am not using it correctly. I have updated the database so this isnt the problem. If this error keeps ocurring and it only works when I ask it to then it seems pretty useless to me.


In two and a half years of using Linux, I've never come across a Linux virus, let alone come across one, decided to run it, decided to type in my password and been infected.

You don't need resident anti-virus protection in Linux, unless you're running a web server, in which case there are ways of doing it.
     Bambleweeny 57 sub-meson brain     Don't Surf in the Nude Blog

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: AVAST ERRORS ALWAYS
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2010, 07:32:07 PM »
Endless discussion.
I'm only saying it's technological possible. And then, why not?
You can prevent infection of Windows partitions and it's not impossible to exploit Linux also.
The best things in life are free.

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: AVAST ERRORS ALWAYS
« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2010, 07:34:54 PM »
I am wondering if Avast is any good on Linux Mint 8. I download a week ago and firstly I see that it doesn't run permanently, it only runs when you ask it to do a check. I tried running a thorough scan of the entire system and on all occasion an error comes up so it doesn't do anything. If I run a quick scan its ok. Maybe I am not using it correctly. I have updated the database so this isnt the problem. If this error keeps ocurring and it only works when I ask it to then it seems pretty useless to me.


In two and a half years of using Linux, I've never come across a Linux virus, let alone come across one, decided to run it, decided to type in my password and been infected.

You don't need resident anti-virus protection in Linux, unless you're running a web server, in which case there are ways of doing it.

exactly, compared to the hundreds and hundreds of thousand viruses lurking around Windows, I read about "40" existed that could affect Linux, if you're unlucky enough to meet them ;D Now there's the argument of a shared NTFS partition, and/or shared USB keys that could get infected with malware while browsing in Linux and then infect Windows when you boot into it. I never really cared; I don't dual-boot with Linux currently but will again one of these days, and chances are poor that I'll ever install an anti-virus on it. First I don't share NTFS partitions (+ access denied from Linux into those partitions), I don't use NTFS at all in Linux and I'm being careful with the USB keys, definitely needed at least to transfer files between the two OS (faster than cloud so far ;D). This said I do mind that there aren't better firewalls for Linux, but that's another topic.
w7 - ais7

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: AVAST ERRORS ALWAYS
« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2010, 07:36:46 PM »
Endless discussion.
I'm only saying it's technological possible. And then, why not?
You can prevent infection of Windows partitions and it's not impossible to exploit Linux also.

I don't remember why...because I didn't care that much to be honest, but I'm pretty sure I read that the Linux architecture prevented somehow the implementation of any resident AV. It's not a flaw, it's a security feature ;)
w7 - ais7

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11786
    • AVAST Software
Re: AVAST ERRORS ALWAYS
« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2010, 07:40:14 PM »
I kinda doubt that, because the server version of avast! does have an on-access scanner. ;)

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: AVAST ERRORS ALWAYS
« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2010, 08:07:54 PM »
I was talking about Linux desktop versions here... ;) ...so what stops you if it works on the servers to do the same for desktop ???
w7 - ais7

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: AVAST ERRORS ALWAYS
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2010, 08:13:22 PM »
There are resident programs in Linux. The architecture of the OS allows services running as resident.
The best things in life are free.

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: AVAST ERRORS ALWAYS
« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2010, 08:40:12 PM »
There are resident programs in Linux. The architecture of the OS allows services running as resident.

this you don't need to tell me, I know, I just thought there were restrictions preventing resident AV to access some areas in the /root partition. Anyway I might be wrong as I just found that ClamAV (Linux version) was resident...to what extend I don't now.
w7 - ais7

Offline zilog

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 957
  • or #f0; daa; add a,#a0; adc a,#40
Re: AVAST ERRORS ALWAYS
« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2010, 10:52:05 AM »
There are resident programs in Linux. The architecture of the OS allows services running as resident.

this you don't need to tell me, I know, I just thought there were restrictions preventing resident AV to access some areas in the /root partition. Anyway I might be wrong as I just found that ClamAV (Linux version) was resident...to what extend I don't now.

Since the OS support multiple tasks, the term "resident" has lost its meaning. Some people mix it with "on access" - but that's about when the scan is done, not about the "resident" nature of the scanner - which is, in the fact, resident by principle.

So yes, on linux, there's an on access solution, too - avastguard + avast4server. on newer kernels , you might compile dazuko on the top of redirfs.

regards,
pc
May's Law: Software efficiency halves every 18 months, compensating Moore's Law. (David May, INMOS)