Author Topic: Password Recovery Programs  (Read 4879 times)

yutsi

Password Recovery Programs
« on: March 21, 2010, 07:24:37 PM »
I am a beginner programmer who frequents hackthissite and hellboundhackers and require password recovery programs to crack hashes.  But for some reason, Avast detects things like Cain and Abel and John the Ripper as PUPs. I added them to all the exclusion lists, and set the settings to "ask", but avast will always abort connection and make firefox have a download error. What can I do to prevent this?

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Password Recovery Programs
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2010, 08:18:39 PM »
The only way you can do anything to download what is considered infected/tool which can be used for good or evil is to stop the web shield. Then the file system shield is likely to alert, but at least you will have it downloaded.

I have a folder imaginatively called avast_excludes for such tools, which can be excluded from scans (at your own risk).
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.4.6112 (build 24.4.9067.762) UI 1.0.803/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

yutsi

« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2010, 09:14:12 PM »
The only way you can do anything to download what is considered infected/tool which can be used for good or evil is to stop the web shield. Then the file system shield is likely to alert, but at least you will have it downloaded.

I have a folder imaginatively called avast_excludes for such tools, which can be excluded from scans (at your own risk).
well what's the point of a antivirus program if I have to disable so much of it?

bong2x

« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2010, 09:21:28 PM »
good logic !!  ;)

what you really want?
a good security software?
or
hellboundhacker software?

they cannot be use in one system they are conflict