Author Topic: Question about a Running Process  (Read 4336 times)

Derika

Question about a Running Process
« on: April 05, 2014, 11:18:02 PM »
I am attaching a screen shot of an EXE file I found within AVAST's setup folder and the running process in task manager. Is this a valid file for Avast?
I am fairly new to using Avast, and just wanted to make sure this executable should be in my running processes for my FREE version. I don't recall seeing this process before, but I could be wrong.

Thanks,
Derika

*Windows 7 Professional 64bit
*Chrome, Firefox browsers

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Question about a Running Process
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2014, 11:47:46 PM »
It is a uniquely named file created by the emergency update process.

It wouldn't be running all of the time, just when an emergency update is available it is run to download and install it.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.2.6105 (build 24.2.8918.824) UI 1.0.799/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Derika

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2014, 11:54:02 PM »
Your explanation makes sense, but I have manually updated Avast and that EXE is still running in the processes.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2014, 01:13:13 AM »
The two are different manually updating avast (and you don't say what, program or virus definitions ?), but assuming that it is the program. Then you may well have the latest program version, but the a manual program check would just say you have the latest version.

However, an emergency update allows for program components to be updated without having to release a formal program update.