Author Topic: Avast cannot connect to server?  (Read 4471 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dha12oks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Avast cannot connect to server?
« on: May 17, 2010, 12:43:39 PM »
Well hear me out.

This has only happend only since i got a trojan that was a fake A-V, after removing it from regedit and removing the files, it has (I think) mucked up something, before i got this trojan it was updating with no problems what-so-ever, i ain't using any proxy settings, nor is my Firewall blocking anything.

Just now i cannot update Avast, if anyone can help me in this situation then i'll be forever in your debt.

Thanks :)

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast cannot connect to server?
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2010, 01:06:12 PM »
Run free Mbam to check your system: http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline dha12oks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Avast cannot connect to server?
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2010, 01:45:59 PM »
Ok, i'll give it a shot, thanks :)

I'll edit this post should if it fixes it or if it doesn't.

Thanks for the help :)

Edit: Ok, it seems to be updating now o_O I mucked around (Not before, after) after i installed it, and it seems that on Proxie button on the connection for the updates was set to Auto detect, but i changed it to Direct connection and it seems to be working now, thanks for the help either way you helped me out :)
« Last Edit: May 17, 2010, 01:53:16 PM by dha12oks »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast cannot connect to server?
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2010, 11:43:37 AM »
No problem..! And welcome to the forum..!! :)
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

RuReady

  • Guest
Re: Avast cannot connect to server?
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2010, 12:56:19 AM »
This issue also happened to me and a client. For whatever reason Avast will not update when the box to use internet explorer settings is checked under the the proxy settings. This is very strange since to the best of my knowledge, after years of having Avast, the box to use IE settings has always been checked and never had any issues with updating.. Wish I had 4.8 back to be honest!!