Author Topic: Internet Security 5.0 just purchased and Firewall doesn't work  (Read 9243 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sandra3247

  • Guest
I just installed and installed and reinstalled this program avast! Internet Security 5.0 licensed for 3PCs. Everytime the program gives you a warning the firewall doesn't work.  I open the user interface, tell it to FIX NOW, nothing happens. It's like a dummy button.  So I click the tab for the firewall, tell it to START nothing happens, another dummy button. 

There is an issue with this and I've tried everything to fix this, but there is obviously a flaw.  I followed all links in the email from avast! to install the product.  I need help here because I'm not getting a very quick response from technical support.  I'm wondering if I made a mistake by upgrading to the full paid version!

Running XP SP3
2.93 GHz
2 GB Ram
Not sure if the program is 32 or 64 bit program installation.
Program version: 5.0.462
Virus definitions version: 100325-1

Hermite15

  • Guest
Re: Internet Security 5.0 just purchased and Firewall doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2010, 06:49:29 PM »
Hi,

don't know what to tell you. This has been posted several times. Seems to affect XP users only...uninstall, reinstall ??? use this http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility

ps: annoying, you're not the first one either complaining about the lack of feedback from the tech support
« Last Edit: March 26, 2010, 06:51:32 PM by Logos »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Internet Security 5.0 just purchased and Firewall doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2010, 08:00:20 PM »
ps: annoying, you're not the first one either complaining about the lack of feedback from the tech support

maybe, WE are the only support - left out there - we can get ???

@sandra: you run a 32 bit version.
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2604
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Internet Security 5.0 just purchased and Firewall doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2010, 08:09:50 PM »

@sandra: you run a 32 bit version.
asyn


 :o ...how do you know that?
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Internet Security 5.0 just purchased and Firewall doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2010, 08:15:36 PM »
:o ...how do you know that?

it's magic ;D
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Hermite15

  • Guest
Re: Internet Security 5.0 just purchased and Firewall doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2010, 08:17:46 PM »
:o ...how do you know that?

it's magic ;D


magic ??? how can you tell?

edit: OK, the OP is running XP SP3 and most likely not 64 bit, so chances are indeed poor that V5 installed in 64 bit mode ;D
« Last Edit: March 26, 2010, 08:20:36 PM by Logos »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Internet Security 5.0 just purchased and Firewall doesn't work
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2010, 08:22:29 PM »
magic ??? how can you tell?

i won't tell all my secrets... ;)
btw: @logos: sorry u ran in2 problems...! :( hope u can figure it out! :)
asyn
« Last Edit: March 26, 2010, 09:58:41 PM by Asyn »
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2604
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Internet Security 5.0 just purchased and Firewall doesn't work
« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2010, 08:26:01 PM »
Chances are high - of course the chance is close to zero that XP SP3 is a 64 bit system.
But it is not sure.
BTW: this is not a magicians forum - if someone knows something of interest, it is normally something to share with other helpers.

But do as you please, after all, you are an Austrian.  ;D
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88764
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Internet Security 5.0 just purchased and Firewall doesn't work
« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2010, 08:31:28 PM »
:o ...how do you know that?

it's magic ;D

magic ??? how can you tell?

edit: OK, the OP is running XP SP3 and most likely not 64 bit, so chances are indeed poor that V5 installed in 64 bit mode ;D

Magic my ass, if someone using XP (or other NT OS) isn't sure if they are running 32 or 64bit OS it is highly likely that it will be 32bit version of XP.

There weren't that many takers of XP Pro 64bit and I don't believe XP Home ever came in a 64bit version and XP Home has the lions share of XP distribution. So a S.W.A.G. Scientific Wild Assed Guess would suggest it is 32bit and that is what Asyn is doing guessing, as there is zero in the OPs info to indicate a 32bit version of XP.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2010, 08:33:07 PM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.1.6099 (build 24.1.8821.762) UI 1.0.796/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2604
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Internet Security 5.0 just purchased and Firewall doesn't work
« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2010, 08:34:07 PM »
David, I know that. Everybody knows that.
However - if there is a chance of it being 64bit, and even if chances are a million to one, you can not state: it is for sure 32 bit.
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Internet Security 5.0 just purchased and Firewall doesn't work
« Reply #10 on: March 26, 2010, 08:40:21 PM »
...after all, you are an Austrian.  ;D

i'll remember that one...!! :P
asyn
« Last Edit: March 26, 2010, 10:01:57 PM by Asyn »
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2604
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Internet Security 5.0 just purchased and Firewall doesn't work
« Reply #11 on: March 26, 2010, 08:49:02 PM »
At least you pretend to be one.

But we can close this discussion. You keep your wisdom, and I won't insist any further.
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Internet Security 5.0 just purchased and Firewall doesn't work
« Reply #12 on: March 26, 2010, 08:55:21 PM »
But we can close this discussion. You keep your wisdom, and I won't insist any further.

i share my 'wisdom'. was just joking! :D
but don't want 2 upset u! sry, if i did so...!
asyn
« Last Edit: March 26, 2010, 09:38:19 PM by Asyn »
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2604
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Internet Security 5.0 just purchased and Firewall doesn't work
« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2010, 08:56:17 PM »
Okay, then: share.
How do you know it is 32 bit?
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Internet Security 5.0 just purchased and Firewall doesn't work
« Reply #14 on: March 26, 2010, 09:31:29 PM »
Okay, then: share.
How do you know it is 32 bit?

if u insist... ;D
afaik, there's no sp3 for xp 64bit
(Windows XP x86 SP3 = Windows XP x64 SP2)
means: xp with sp3 can only b a 32 bit system...!!
anyone more/different info, feel free 2 post it... :)
greetz asyn
« Last Edit: March 26, 2010, 10:10:57 PM by Asyn »
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0