Author Topic: Webshield problem with Comodo Dragon browser  (Read 14001 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JonahHex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Webshield problem with Comodo Dragon browser
« Reply #15 on: March 28, 2010, 02:57:42 PM »
but i dont find any webshield.ini in C:programfiles/avast

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4125
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: Webshield problem with Comodo Dragon browser
« Reply #16 on: March 28, 2010, 02:59:25 PM »
Not programfiles, but ProgramData

It is a hidden folder in windows vista and seven.

“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline JonahHex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Webshield problem with Comodo Dragon browser
« Reply #17 on: March 28, 2010, 03:03:14 PM »
okay thanks. Will my other browsers work like they should and be scanned properly if i modify the webshield.ini file?

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4125
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: Webshield problem with Comodo Dragon browser
« Reply #18 on: March 28, 2010, 03:05:20 PM »
Yes, it only adds dragon to be scanned, and shouldn't affect the others.
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline JonahHex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Webshield problem with Comodo Dragon browser
« Reply #19 on: March 28, 2010, 03:10:09 PM »
Its worth trying. Give me 5 minutes.

Offline JonahHex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Webshield problem with Comodo Dragon browser
« Reply #20 on: March 28, 2010, 03:22:57 PM »
its not working. i did what you wrote  :(

Offline JonahHex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Webshield problem with Comodo Dragon browser
« Reply #21 on: March 28, 2010, 03:34:42 PM »
okay Scott.
I give you great credit for you help. But this isn't over :D. Someone will solve it I'm sure of it.

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2610
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Webshield problem with Comodo Dragon browser
« Reply #22 on: March 28, 2010, 03:37:41 PM »
After changing an ini file, a reboot is always a good idea...  ;D
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline JonahHex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Webshield problem with Comodo Dragon browser
« Reply #23 on: March 28, 2010, 03:49:23 PM »
okay.  after reboot it still don't work  :(. Maybe the best is to uninstall Comodo and install it again so avast can recognise it.

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4125
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: Webshield problem with Comodo Dragon browser
« Reply #24 on: March 28, 2010, 04:42:13 PM »
Oddly, I have just installed dragon, and added the optin option and it works as designed, the data is scanned.

So I am not sure what is going on with yours...

Maybe you could post the contents of the webshield.ini here?

-Scott-
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline JonahHex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Webshield problem with Comodo Dragon browser
« Reply #25 on: March 28, 2010, 05:23:14 PM »
okay.
here is a screenshot.

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2610
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Webshield problem with Comodo Dragon browser
« Reply #26 on: March 28, 2010, 05:38:50 PM »
Where did you put the optin...?  ;D
Put it in the [Webscanner] section.
That's what was advised.

Between "ExcludedTypesList=..." and "[Common]"
« Last Edit: March 28, 2010, 05:40:44 PM by Zyndstoff »
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline JonahHex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Webshield problem with Comodo Dragon browser
« Reply #27 on: March 28, 2010, 06:08:17 PM »
Jesus!
I am a newbie with this sort of stuff but here is a new screenshot and now its working like it should be.
Thing must be put in the right place  ;).
At least 4 roses to you who helped me with this !
I hope this right now  ::)

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2610
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Webshield problem with Comodo Dragon browser
« Reply #28 on: March 28, 2010, 07:15:20 PM »
Does it work now?

Yes?

Than it's the right place.
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline JonahHex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Webshield problem with Comodo Dragon browser
« Reply #29 on: March 28, 2010, 08:10:58 PM »
Like i wrote before. at lest one armful with roses to all of you who pulled me through this problem.
Love you all.