Author Topic: sf.bin  (Read 54589 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline QBALL263

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
sf.bin
« on: March 29, 2010, 04:17:31 PM »
I am constantly being asked by my firewall (Online Armor) that sf.bin wants to run.  I check allow and install, but apparently, the program does not want to install.  Is this some kind of glitch, or did I do something wrong?  ANY help would be appreciated. Thanks

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 65943
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: sf.bin
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2010, 04:31:15 PM »
same here, with comodo. sometimes d+ pops up (its in verbose) telling me bout the sf.bin is doing smthng.
it happens sometimes, not every time avast makes updates, so my (not so) wild guess: it's related 2 the avast vps updates. ;)
any more info on what it exactly does in avast is highly appreciated! :)
asyn

edit: @qball263: u can allow it, it won't do any harm.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2010, 04:33:27 PM by Asyn »
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.6.2420.BUC [UI.544] - CC 5.68 - EEK - FF ESR 68.11 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.11 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0


Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 65943
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: sf.bin
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2010, 04:40:36 PM »
many thanx 4 the info, pondus!! :)
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.6.2420.BUC [UI.544] - CC 5.68 - EEK - FF ESR 68.11 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.11 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline QBALL263

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: sf.bin
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2010, 09:19:59 PM »

Thx guys.  Read the links Pondus posted and they somewhat helped.  Since  I know barely enuff to get myself in DEEP trouble, how do I keep OA from popping up this request?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 65943
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: sf.bin
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2010, 11:30:53 AM »
permanently allow it or exclude it in oa, if possible.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.6.2420.BUC [UI.544] - CC 5.68 - EEK - FF ESR 68.11 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.11 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Unfolding

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: sf.bin
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2010, 08:56:41 PM »
Hiya

I am having some worrying issues with the Sf.bin binary as well. A couple of days back ZA notified me that Sf.bin wanted access to Internet (239.255.255.250) and I have tried to raise that with Alwil but no response yet. I tried to create a MD5 checksum (according to Pondus posting) with a MD5 Hash toll in it failed this validation, but the tool itself is a bit flaky..

Avast free 5.0.462 and 100403-0
Vista Home Premium SP2

Any suggestions? 


Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 65943
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: sf.bin
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2010, 09:14:13 PM »
That's what whois says on 239.255.255.250...
No whois server is known for this kind of object.
Sorry, have no more to add. ;)
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.6.2420.BUC [UI.544] - CC 5.68 - EEK - FF ESR 68.11 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.11 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Unfolding

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: sf.bin
« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2010, 12:16:24 PM »
Yeah, what I'm asking here is it expected behaviour for Sf.bin to try to connect to Internet?

 

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: sf.bin
« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2010, 12:21:07 PM »
That is the "Simple Service Discovery Protocol (SSDP)" via UDP on port 1900 searching the network for Universal-P&P-devices. Doesn't have anything to do with Avast IMHO. Disable Universal Plug and Play, and it will stop.
 8)
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Unfolding

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: sf.bin
« Reply #10 on: April 04, 2010, 12:29:38 PM »
Ok, but ZA explicitly said that Sf.bin tried to connect to that address..

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: sf.bin
« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2010, 12:36:50 PM »
Oh, I see. Has something to do with code emulation... and yes, it is in the vps updates.
I guess it is ok to connect, but I don't know why it does so and what happens there.
Need a dev to explain, I suppose.
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Unfolding

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: sf.bin
« Reply #12 on: April 04, 2010, 06:44:15 PM »
ok thanks the quest goes on.. anyone?

Offline Tsimmes

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: sf.bin
« Reply #13 on: April 26, 2010, 09:30:43 PM »
Same problem with Outpost firewall. Keeps asking for permission to allow sf.bin to run. I keep trying to permanently allow it but no luck.
Asus G75VW-DS71, 12 GB RAM, Win7/64
Twin 750GB 7200rpm SATA hard drives
2.3-GHz Intel Core i7-3610QM Ivy Bridge

Offline Tsimmes

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: sf.bin
« Reply #14 on: April 26, 2010, 09:38:50 PM »
permanently allow it or exclude it in oa, if possible.

I note that this thread is about a month old and that four different firewalls are reporting that sf.bin keeps wanting to run. Permanently allowing it to do so does not seem to work for me on Outpost firewall. Can this not be resolved somehow?
Asus G75VW-DS71, 12 GB RAM, Win7/64
Twin 750GB 7200rpm SATA hard drives
2.3-GHz Intel Core i7-3610QM Ivy Bridge