Poll

What do you think Avira is?

They are a cheat, no doubt about it.
50 (89.3%)
I trust Avira and I am sure they must have a good reason nehind this.
6 (10.7%)

Total Members Voted: 0

Voting closed: July 28, 2010, 02:42:25 PM

Author Topic: Avira pulls off the dirtiest trick on Avast!  (Read 48213 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bong2x

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 474
  • My system Protector is avast
Re: Avira pulls off the dirtiest trick on Avast!
« Reply #15 on: March 30, 2010, 03:54:59 PM »
ok thanks chubalz!

Hardware
Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.20GHz,3GB RAM.
Software
OS->WinXp-pro Sp3.
Protection->avast Free 6.0.1091,MBAM,SAS
Browser->Firefox 4.0,IE8,G-chrome
Emergency Interface->unlocker 1.8.9

Life is a continue process of learning

Offline -Genesis-

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
Re: Avira pulls off the dirtiest trick on Avast!
« Reply #16 on: March 30, 2010, 03:59:00 PM »
ok thanks chubalz!



Welcome bro.

We have same place.  ;D
Windows 10 Pro 1909/ Windows Defender/
Ryzen 5 1600/ Aorus Gtx 1080Ti Xtreme/ Gskill Trident Z RGB 3000/ Samsung Evo 250GB/ Western Digital Black 1 TB

Offline anjandavid

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
Re: Avira pulls off the dirtiest trick on Avast!
« Reply #17 on: March 30, 2010, 04:00:22 PM »
Isn't Avast.eu owned by Avira?

I am a devout Avast fan but I will always stand with the truth
Thanks :-* :-*
Pentium 4, 3GHz. WinXP SP-3,RAM-512 mb.
AVAST HOME.6.0.1000, WINPATROL PRO. MBAM PRO. SPYWARE BLASTER. CCLEANER.
ON DEMAND:SAS.

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84759
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avira pulls off the dirtiest trick on Avast!
« Reply #18 on: March 30, 2010, 04:03:37 PM »
<snip>
Don't we have some similar area here...? ;)

Yes we do but it isn't called a Community which I would have expected to include everyone and it wasn't mentioned in your original post (you have now edited) that it wasn't open to all :P
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline bong2x

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 474
  • My system Protector is avast
Re: Avira pulls off the dirtiest trick on Avast!
« Reply #19 on: March 30, 2010, 04:05:01 PM »
 :D ilike this line ;)

Quote
History notes. Some may notice that we do use the domain www.antivir.cz here in the Czech Republic when Antivir is also the name of one of Avira’s products. “Antivir” is simply the Czech equivalent of “antivirus”. Similarly, www.antivirus.com is owned by Trend Micro. We registered the names www.antivir.com and www.antivir.cz in 1997 and for many years used these domain names. A couple of years ago Avira wanted the name www.antivir.com and we struck an agreement to transfer that name to them. However, we kept the www.antivir.cz as it is merely the Czech equivalent of www.antivirus.cz.
Hardware
Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.20GHz,3GB RAM.
Software
OS->WinXp-pro Sp3.
Protection->avast Free 6.0.1091,MBAM,SAS
Browser->Firefox 4.0,IE8,G-chrome
Emergency Interface->unlocker 1.8.9

Life is a continue process of learning

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: Avira pulls off the dirtiest trick on Avast!
« Reply #20 on: March 30, 2010, 04:11:33 PM »
Isn't Avast.eu owned by Avira?

I am a devout Avast fan but I will always stand with the truth
Thanks :-* :-*

Thanks AnjanDavid
  ;) :D

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: Avira pulls off the dirtiest trick on Avast!
« Reply #21 on: March 30, 2010, 04:14:26 PM »
I don't think .eu is a famous domain.

Most people are likely to type Avast.com instead of Avast.eu ;D

Seems more like a silly dispute between the owners of Avast and Avira.

Offline nmb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3060
Re: Avira pulls off the dirtiest trick on Avast!
« Reply #22 on: March 30, 2010, 04:15:03 PM »
I totally support Avira in this regard

Because Avast also does this trick with http://www.antivir.cz

So,

Let us first make our hands clean before blaming others

Antivir is just the equivalent of antivirus in czech as indicated in the blog. So we are not tricking anyone.

nmb

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: Avira pulls off the dirtiest trick on Avast!
« Reply #23 on: March 30, 2010, 04:19:52 PM »
Apple is a fruit that everyone eats and so is Orange

Does this mean that companies like Apple and Orange should change their trademarks?

And it is easy to register a domain and resell it at a high price

So, if I register for example Apple .eu

I am entitled to it not Apple and Steve Jobs

If they wanted it then they should have registered it before I did

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: Avira pulls off the dirtiest trick on Avast!
« Reply #24 on: March 30, 2010, 04:23:38 PM »
And also

Avast is a 'word' which means Cease; stop; or stay.

It is a universal word
« Last Edit: March 30, 2010, 04:26:39 PM by Chris Thomas »

Offline nmb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3060
Re: Avira pulls off the dirtiest trick on Avast!
« Reply #25 on: March 30, 2010, 04:27:00 PM »
But showing apple and giving orange is not acceptable i guess, huh?!

nmb

Offline anjandavid

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
Re: Avira pulls off the dirtiest trick on Avast!
« Reply #26 on: March 30, 2010, 04:27:46 PM »
Apple is a fruit that everyone eats and so is Orange

Does this mean that companies like Apple and Orange should change their trademarks?

And it is easy to register a domain and resell it at a high price

So, if I register for example Apple .eu

I am entitled to it not Apple and Steve Jobs

If they wanted it then they should have registered it before I did

Again thanks :-*
Pentium 4, 3GHz. WinXP SP-3,RAM-512 mb.
AVAST HOME.6.0.1000, WINPATROL PRO. MBAM PRO. SPYWARE BLASTER. CCLEANER.
ON DEMAND:SAS.

Offline Browser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Avira pulls off the dirtiest trick on Avast!
« Reply #27 on: March 30, 2010, 04:32:54 PM »
Seems like both Avira and Avast are pulling equally "dirty" tricks here.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Avira pulls off the dirtiest trick on Avast!
« Reply #28 on: March 30, 2010, 04:38:00 PM »
This is ridiculous... Made a better program instead of doing such a trick. Shame.
The best things in life are free.

Offline bong2x

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 474
  • My system Protector is avast
Re: Avira pulls off the dirtiest trick on Avast!
« Reply #29 on: March 30, 2010, 04:39:04 PM »
 ;D logically let see what is it ::)

if antivir=fruit
and if avast = orange
and if avira = apple

if i request apple*printf("avira")
if i request orange*printf("avast")
if i request fruit*printf("avast or avira")

so meaning if i request antivir it can be avast or avira
and if i request avast it mean i need exactly avast!!!

correct me if i'm wrong

Best regards!!!
Hardware
Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.20GHz,3GB RAM.
Software
OS->WinXp-pro Sp3.
Protection->avast Free 6.0.1091,MBAM,SAS
Browser->Firefox 4.0,IE8,G-chrome
Emergency Interface->unlocker 1.8.9

Life is a continue process of learning