Author Topic: Back to Avast 4.8....for now.  (Read 3808 times)

kjacobs

Back to Avast 4.8....for now.
« on: April 09, 2010, 10:01:02 PM »
Hello all....

I have been using Avast faithfully for the past 2 years and it has always done an incredible job. This morning I downloaded the latest Avast 5 Free for one of my machines. I liked the new look and interface. However, it appears to run much slower than 4.8 ever did. The scan presets do not function. And once I did setup a custom scan to go, I could not see any scan progress. I could not pause or stop a scan in progress, either. I did not noticed the CPU issue that I have read about on other posts. However, 4.8 ran very streamlined and fast, even on a few of my older P4 machines. Avast 5 on this dual core seemed a lot more sluggish. Once scanning, it brought the machine almost to a halt. Again...never noticed this with 4.8, so........think I will wait a few more months before trying again.

Hermite15

Re: Back to Avast 4.8....for now.
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2010, 10:08:21 PM »
would be more interesting to post your specs, OS, service packs etc... there's something wrong either with your Windows setup, or with the fact that you upgraded directly from 4.8 to 5.0 It would have been wiser to browse the forums first to find out that most failures with V5 occur like that. There's one thing you can do, uninstall Avast completely using the removal tool >>> http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility , then reboot and reinstall V5 from scratch.

kjacobs

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2010, 10:16:41 PM »