Author Topic: Cant update any security  (Read 7474 times)

jeanie_mcgough

Cant update any security
« on: April 07, 2010, 01:29:23 PM »
I am not too technically minded about computers .  I was running avast free version and everything was updating fine.  It then advised me it was out of date.  I cannot update this or go into any other site concerning security.  Windows defender will also not connect.  When I go into some websites it takes me to either google or yahoo.

I have run the out of date avast and it is not finding any viruses however it does say some of my files are corrupt.  Server.

Please help   

Offline Pondus

• Probably Bot
  • Not a avast user
Re: Cant update any security
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2010, 04:25:37 PM »
Check your computer for Malware with

Malwarebytes Antimalware http://filehippo.com/download_malwarebytes_anti_malware/
after install click UPDATE and run quick scan, click on REMOVE SELECTED to quarantine anything found

SUPERAntiSpyware http://filehippo.com/download_superantispyware/
Are cookies really spyware and are they dangerous?
http://www.superantispyware.com/supportfaqdisplay.html?faq=26

If anything is found come back and post the scan logs here

jeanie_mcgough

« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2010, 08:00:30 PM »
Your a genius after hours of trying to sort this i downloaded the malware and ran it .  it identified 51 problems.  my computer is now back to running normally - what a relief.  i also downloaded the super anti spyware that you suggested.

Do I keep running avast and the 2 programmes above all the time.  Or do I just use the above at certain times?

Sorry for being so stupid

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2010, 08:05:15 PM »
it identified 51 problems.
MBAM or Super? Did you send files to Chest? Are you sure they're not cookies?

Do I keep running avast and the 2 programmes above all the time.  Or do I just use the above at certain times?
You can.
The best things in life are free.