Author Topic: IM INFECTED !!! HELP ME QUICKLY  (Read 7713 times)

stejen100

IM INFECTED !!! HELP ME QUICKLY
« on: June 27, 2003, 08:43:10 PM »
PLEASE HELP ME IM AN ABSOLUTE BEGINNER AT USING PC'S AND IM INFECTED WITH 3 VIRUSES I THINK,I DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO AND I DONT KNOW HOW TO GET RID OF THEM...................................... HHHHHHHEEEEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLLLPPPPPPPPP!!!!!!!!!!!

Offline raman

• Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
Re:IM INFECTED !!! HELP ME QUICKLY
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2003, 08:50:13 PM »
It would be helpfull if you can say with which virus you are infected, where it is located and what OS you use.
MfG Ralf

techie101

« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2003, 01:55:05 AM »
stejan,

More importantly,  which anti-virus program detected them?
Please give us the full name of the virus as it appears in the "alert".

DO NOT SEND ANY OF THE FORUM MEMBERS COPIES OF THE "VIRUS" UNLESS SPECIFICALLY REQUESTED TO DO SO!

If you are offered the option to IGNORE, DELETE OR MOVE TO CHEST ( Or Vault), THEN pick the "move".
We don't want you to delete a needed file that comes up as a "false positive".
A false positive is NOT a damaging virus, but a program that starts by itself, uncommanded by the user which might be completely harmless and normal.  The anti-virus program sees this, and questions "why".  Therefore you get the alert just to be sure.
I am keeping the explanation as simple as possible for you until you become more familiar with virus terms.  OK?

:-[

stejen100

« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2003, 09:22:45 PM »
thanks techie 101 for getting back to me . well the info you want ,and i hope it helps. is this:
im using avast anti virus {the free one } and i use windows xp, i moved the files to the chest thinking they would be better in there than any where else . the virus came up as  C:\RECYCLER\S-1-5-21-1608279117-3025990876-3238835185-1004\Dc5.sig  New folder: C:\DOCUME~1\User\LOCALS~1\Temp\asw1D.tmp\7.sig