Author Topic: Thunderbird "Get Mail" not working with Avast  (Read 5978 times)

LeoL

Thunderbird "Get Mail" not working with Avast
« on: April 05, 2010, 04:13:24 PM »
Hi,

I'm new to Avast and this forum. Having installed Avast everything is working fine except when I press the "Get Mail" button in Thunderbird. Then I get an unknown (as in no error text displayed) POP3 error displayed. If I disable the Avast email checking this problem goes away. I assume that with Avast checking my mail it is acting as a POP3 server for Thunderbird and I assume it is Avast that is not responding to Thunderbird when I press "Get Mail". If I leave Thunderbird to download my email automatically then I get all my email. It is only when I know an email is waiting for me and I press "Get Mail" that the problem occurs. With AVG Free I never experienced a problem like this.

Could someone tell me if this is a common problem and whether or not there is a solution to it? I did a search of the forum before posting this and couldn't find the same issue, but then I got a lot of hits about Avast email configuration so I may have missed it.

Many thanks,

Leo

sded

Re: Thunderbird "Get Mail" not working with Avast
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2010, 04:33:48 PM »
Does your email use SSL?  Which TB version are you using?  When you use the dropdown list from "Getmail", what message do you get?  Is it not working for any of your accounts?  Haven't seen the problem before and don't have it when I use TB.  Avast! is just a transparent localhost proxy that intercepts mail coming to you and scans it, passes it on to TB.  When you manually retrieve mail from the TB account "read messages", does that work for you?

LeoL

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2010, 05:12:41 PM »
Thanks for the reply. The Avast software said to disable SSL as it couldn't deal with mail if SSL is enabled, so I did that. The message I got gave no text other than to say there was an error with the yahoo pop server. The exact text is