Author Topic: Virus on a new computer that I just started???  (Read 3561 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Misuzu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
Virus on a new computer that I just started???
« on: April 06, 2010, 02:15:45 AM »
I got a new computer recently and I transferred the install files from my old computer (That hasn't been on the internet in a long time (A.K.A it has been disconnected completely from the net and the last time it was on the net, I scanned with a updated MBAM and it was clean) for Avast and MBAM onto my new computer and MBAM now says I have a virus!

It's a Hijack.Display-- (I can't see the rest of the name) malware.

My MBAM version is:
3958

Is this a FP?
I just started using this computer today and haven't even went onto the internet yet. But my new computer has been connected to the internet.

I'm on a different computer right now, so I can't post the log. But I will later.
Thanks in advance.

EDIT: I scanned with MBAM on my family's computer and my new computer and both came out clean...

So maybe my older computer had a virus/malware? But how could it have? I haven't been on the internet/connected to the internet in a very very long time and MBAM should have detected malware when I scanned with it shouldn't it have?
 :-\

If this is malware, how can I be sure it's gone?


EDIT 2 IMPORTANT: I scanned the USB Stick I used to put the install files on my new computer with a up-to-date MBAM and it came out clean. (I scanned the USB Stick with my family's computer) I then scanned the computer I scanned the USB Stick on and it said it was clean too.

My new computer has Avast 5 on it, but the other two computers have Avast 4.8  ... Could that be why?
« Last Edit: April 06, 2010, 02:44:49 AM by Misuzu »
|  Free Avast!   |  Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (Both up-to-date) |

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88736
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Virus on a new computer that I just started???
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2010, 02:47:06 AM »
How can we tell when there really is nothing to check.

Post the contents of your MBAM log, open MBAM again, click the Logs tab. Open the also log and copy and paste the contents of the log in your next post.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.1.6099 (build 24.1.8821.762) UI 1.0.796/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Misuzu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
Re: Virus on a new computer that I just started???
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2010, 02:53:31 AM »
Sorry about that. Here you go:

Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware 1.45
www.malwarebytes.org

Database version: 3958

Windows 6.1.7600
Internet Explorer 8.0.7600.16385

4/5/2010 8:09:02 PM
mbam-log-2010-04-05 (20-09-02).txt

Scan type: Quick scan
Objects scanned: 102254
Time elapsed: 2 minute(s), 15 second(s)

Memory Processes Infected: 0
Memory Modules Infected: 0
Registry Keys Infected: 0
Registry Values Infected: 0
Registry Data Items Infected: 1
Folders Infected: 0
Files Infected: 0

Memory Processes Infected:
(No malicious items detected)

Memory Modules Infected:
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Keys Infected:
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Values Infected:
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Data Items Infected:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer\NoActiveDesktopChanges (Hijack.DisplayProperties) -> Bad: (1) Good: (0) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

Folders Infected:
(No malicious items detected)

Files Infected:
(No malicious items detected)
|  Free Avast!   |  Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (Both up-to-date) |

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88736
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Virus on a new computer that I just started???
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2010, 03:49:43 AM »
I don't believe you have anything to worry about as some people have this set to stop changes to the active desktop. So if you set that no problem, even if you didn't or don't remember it is possible some malware could do this, but there is no indication of this in the MBAM or avast scans.

I'm not even sure if this might not be the default value. Or if you elect to lock desktop items if that might also change that value.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.1.6099 (build 24.1.8821.762) UI 1.0.796/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Misuzu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
Re: Virus on a new computer that I just started???
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2010, 04:21:41 AM »
I don't believe you have anything to worry about as some people have this set to stop changes to the active desktop. So if you set that no problem, even if you didn't or don't remember it is possible some malware could do this, but there is no indication of this in the MBAM or avast scans.

I'm not even sure if this might not be the default value. Or if you elect to lock desktop items if that might also change that value.

Oh thank you so much! That makes sense.
I really appreciate your help!
 ;D
|  Free Avast!   |  Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (Both up-to-date) |

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88736
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Virus on a new computer that I just started???
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2010, 05:16:06 AM »
You're welcome.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.1.6099 (build 24.1.8821.762) UI 1.0.796/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security