Author Topic: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [NOW 5.0.504] ***  (Read 117891 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ArtemisF0wl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.492] ***
« Reply #15 on: April 07, 2010, 06:54:47 AM »
- scanning and virus chest features now accessible even from Windows Safe Mode
Many thanks!

- avast! Screen saver can be now configured via the screensaver properties dialog
Good.

+65465446   This is great news!! Thanks!!
;D
Hp Envy 8gig Ram Intel Corei7
Windows7 Home Premium x64
Avast 6 Free, Comodo Firewall 5.8 , MBAM Pro, SuperAntispyware Free, Hostsman

Offline ace11

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.492] ***
« Reply #16 on: April 07, 2010, 07:44:16 AM »
FW  LOG for connections can not be sorted by time :

clicking on the time field does nothing.

Offline jumpingking

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.492] ***
« Reply #17 on: April 07, 2010, 08:34:33 AM »
I installed it and works perfect for me :)

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.492] ***
« Reply #18 on: April 07, 2010, 09:25:23 AM »
installed, rebooted, searched the GUI a bit to see what's new...firewall settings: first thing I noticed is that the "enter" key doesn't work on the password dialog box, no big deal, I then wanted to open the packet rules interface, prompted for the password again (which is normal), noticed the interface was new edit: it was just resized..., but empty, no rules, and >>> CRASH of Avast ;D I got a minidump generated automatically by Avast + one I generated manually from Windows task manager. I'll upload that to your ftp site and send you (VLK) the archive password by mail.

Thanks, will be fixed in the next refresh (today/tomorrow).

"real time shields" in the status bar details shows "on" even though some modules are off (deactivated by me).

I don't seem able to simulate this. BTW have you changed the Status bar settings (in program settings) in any way?

It would be perfect if one day Avast will repair (cure) infected .exe (patching virus)  in boot scan as Dr. Web Cure it does.

It does, but only some of them (only the ones that are generally not rewriting the original file parts).

FW  LOG for connections can not be sorted by time :
clicking on the time field does nothing.

Strange, seems to be working here. Do you see the arrow icon in the list column?


Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Sparxx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 338
  • www.romanism.ro
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.492] ***
« Reply #19 on: April 07, 2010, 09:34:18 AM »
Works fine for me (Avast Free) , the only problem is that related by Logos , with the enter key .
|| MB : Gigabyte GM880-UD2H || CPU : AMD Athlon II 620 || GPU : Sapphire Radeon R9 270X || RAM : 6 Gb DDR3 1600 ||  HDD : 250GB/500GB/1TB || OS  :Windows 8.1 Professional x64 || Avast IS 9 ||

Offline ace11

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.492] ***
« Reply #20 on: April 07, 2010, 11:24:38 AM »
"  Strange, seems to be working here. Do you see the arrow icon in the list column?


Thanks  "


Yes , I see the small arrow , clicking on the field name should re sort the column immediately -
Instead it resorts  only if I refresh the window (i.e. click on another AIS section and then return to FW LOG view )

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9441
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.492] ***
« Reply #21 on: April 07, 2010, 11:27:30 AM »
"real time shields" in the status bar details shows "on" even though some modules are off (deactivated by me).

I don't seem able to simulate this. BTW have you changed the Status bar settings (in program settings) in any way?

yes, as said I un-ticked what I don't use to avoid the warning on the tray icon and the "fix now" on the status bar. Anyway, the detailed view is still supposed to show "shields off", and actually it does again after a reboot, so the normal and usual behavior is back (other than this I always thought than the "shields off" mention, even if just in detailed view, is a bit misleading, when just one shield is off).

Works fine for me (Avast Free) , the only problem is that related by Logos , with the enter key .

yes, confirming it's still there after a reboot, once you've typed your password, you lose focus on the dialog window and "enter" obviously cannot work. Not a big problem ;)
« Last Edit: April 07, 2010, 11:30:30 AM by Logos »
w7 - ais7

Offline RedFan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.492] ***
« Reply #22 on: April 07, 2010, 11:29:48 AM »
Updated to 492 with no problems, also installed additional language pack Dutch, all working flawless in this build
nice added Dutch language ;) thx avast
« Last Edit: April 07, 2010, 11:34:10 AM by RedFan »
Intel® i3 Dual-Core @3,5 GHZ. RAM: 16GB ddr3 || SSD 500 GB || Windows 10 Home x64 || Edge-Chromium user.

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.492] ***
« Reply #23 on: April 07, 2010, 11:44:01 AM »

- scanning and virus chest features now accessible even from Windows Safe Mode


This is appreciated much


Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.492] ***
« Reply #24 on: April 07, 2010, 12:06:29 PM »
FYI The default button thing (pressing Enter not applying the default button) is indeed a bug and will be solved soon.

Thanks.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline al968

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 847
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.492] ***
« Reply #25 on: April 07, 2010, 01:43:32 PM »
Seems to be working over here :)
Any plans to add the silent installation feature ??


Thanks

Al968

Offline Shiw Liang

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1436
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.492] ***
« Reply #26 on: April 07, 2010, 02:49:40 PM »
hm...can't that been updated through the program update ;D?

Offline al968

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 847
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.492] ***
« Reply #27 on: April 07, 2010, 03:14:47 PM »
hm...can't that been updated through the program update ;D?

With all the settings ?? I have yet to find the way to export the settings to be able to import them on an other computer...If you knoiw how please let me know  ;)

Al968

Offline RedFan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.492] ***
« Reply #28 on: April 07, 2010, 05:08:46 PM »
Can anyone confirm, when another language installed you no longer hear the womens voice when updating definitions
(here installed dutch language)
Intel® i3 Dual-Core @3,5 GHZ. RAM: 16GB ddr3 || SSD 500 GB || Windows 10 Home x64 || Edge-Chromium user.

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3729
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.492] ***
« Reply #29 on: April 07, 2010, 06:03:45 PM »
Vlk :)

As you know I am very happy that there is a Dutch translation with this release ( And you should release it as it is right now ;) ) but there is room for improvement here and there ;) My question : What is the procedure for this ??? Can I contact the translator, or maybe he/she can contact me ( You can give my email address to him/her :) ) or something else ???

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Cybersec